Church Musician “Madlibs”

The following is a fairly typical experience for most of us who serve as musicians in the church:

This weekend, I was approached by one of the ____________(adjective) members of our congregation. They loved the number of _____________(genre) style songs we sing but they wished that there were more__________(genre) style songs. This made me feel _________(emotion) despite the fact that the worship that Sunday made me feel __________(emotion).

When I came in to work that week, the pastor told me that music was really ______________(adjective) and the Spirit really ____________(past-tense verb) but  he received an email from a __________(adjective) person who thought that the music was too _______________(adjective). I ___________(adverb) thanked him for this feedback and then when he left the office I ________(adverb) closed the door and said ___________(expletive).

At rehearsal that Saturday, most of the volunteers were __________(adjective) but some were__________(adjective). This made me feel________________(emotion) and I ___________(adverb) reminded them that rehearsal was _____________(adjective). When I went home to my _________(adjective) family  that afternoon, I felt very __________(emotion) and was not very _____________(adjective) to them as a result.

By the time Sunday morning came back around, I was ready to _____________(verb) and couldn’t contain my ______________(emotion). If you had asked me that morning, I would have said that my church is ________________(adjective) and that Jesus is _____________(adjective).

Fellow church musicians, how would you fill out this madlib this week? Is there any doubt that Spiritual warfare is a REAL struggle for church musicians and volunteers? When you get to the final sentence, what is your state of mind? Who is filling in the blanks for you? The blanks will be filled in by either the promises of God and the fruit of His Spirit or by the lies of the flesh, the devil and the world. Lord, lead us!

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by neweyes2 on March 4, 2014 - 6:05 pm

    This post is genius. Having to help my children with grammar a few days a week, my eyes glaze over looking at parts of speech. But man, I think I could make a similar Mad Lib for teaching art. I hope your Mad Lib had more happy adjectives than bad. Love you.

  2. #2 by jdubious on March 4, 2014 - 6:33 pm

    I can’t tell if this is mostly humor, or mostly burnout! Be still, God will ___(verb) your battles.

    • #3 by Kirk Ward on March 4, 2014 - 8:00 pm

      Both! I’m processing burn out through humor

  3. #4 by MTW Europe Member Care on March 5, 2014 - 3:40 am

    Worship is supposed to elicit emotions, but not always the ones we feel welling up in us. It challenges our hearing God’s response (the only object of our worship), when the response of our fellow worshipers sometimes pull other strings in our hearts.

  4. #5 by worship360 on March 10, 2014 - 7:31 pm

    Reblogged this on Worship360 and commented:
    Having a daughter who is 8, our family uses Mad Libs a lot to survive long trips. But this is a whole new twist. Written by my cousin Kirk, who is a worship leader in St Louis, this funny exercise helps demonstrate the challenges worship leaders face and the emotions surrounding the arts in the church! I hope you take this in a spirit of fun as we all learn to laugh as we understand each other…

  1. Church Musician Madlibs as filled out by sister’s kids | Worship In The City

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 411 other followers

