Portrait . . . Part Deux

Abe asked another question:

do you see yourself doing this for a long time? Or is it a temporary stop before seminary or something?

That is an excellent question, and I’m sure that it is something that many church musicians, youth pastors, campus ministers and such who aspire to being senior pastors have to deal with. It is also an issue for church musicians who still have dreams of getting a recording contract, hitting the road, or selling gold records.

I do see myself doing this for a long time. I love music; I love to play music in church. All the experiences I’ve had playing in clubs, recitals, or in the studio have never been as personally rewarding as the experiences I have had on Sunday mornings. It’s not a matter of being more spiritual than a jazz guitarist or a music teacher; God has ordained people to advance His Kingdom in those positions. Just look at my guitar teacher, Mark. He is the head of a major University Jazz Faculty, and he is serving the Lord in that context just like me. When I was in school I began to realize that I was not a performer. My peers who were headed in the performance direction had a passion for practicing and a commitment to an aesthetic vision and standard that would have driven them batty if they had to do my job. But, I love my job (most of the time). It has been so strange for me for to realize that I used to say, “Someday I would like to be the Director of Music in a church just like New City Fellowship” and now I am.

  1. #1 by Anonymous on January 21, 2005 - 3:05 pm

    Crazy how we end up writing the same things. I just blogged about almost the same topic today. But more around the lines of…no matter what else your doing your call to be creative is always there.k8

