T.G.I.F. Oh Boy!

My wife, Sarah, loves Fridays. Of she does, why not? After a long work week, Friday is the sweet relief of knowing you have 48 more hours of free time before going back to work for ‘The Man.’ Plus, you get to sleep-in Saturday so there is an expectation that anything can happen on Friday night. Not so for the heroic church musicians; our work is just begining. I have rehearsal’s on Saturday morning from 8 am until 12:30, and then this month, due to our choir experiement, I have to do another 2 hour rehearsal in the afternoon. So, in effect, my Saturday is a hardcore work day. I am usually completely spent by the end of an average Saturday. One fact that might not occur to most folks in the church: for many of your staff, weekends are the busiest most stressful times of the week.

I know what you might be thinking: “Would you like some cheese with your wine(whine)?” Why am I complaining? I get to spend all week working on music while my poor wife spends all week doing ‘B.P.O.s’ (I don’t know what a ‘B.P.O.’ is exactly, but I imagine they are something like ‘TPS reports’). She is excited on Friday’s because she has a right to be excited after putting in a hard 40 hour work week.

Sarah, my love, I promise I will do my best every Friday night to match your excitement despite the fact that I won’t be sleeping-in tomorrow.

  1. #1 by Sarah on February 10, 2005 - 9:19 am

    i would like to thank you, my love, for your comments about my lazy fridays and remind you in a loving manner 🙂 what my saturdays look like. i might sleep in a little, maybe until 7:30 or 8:00 when i get up and get ready for the day. i usually try to spend some quality time over breakfast with an old friend and then it’s off to work. i have a few hours to get all of the grocery shopping done, which usually involves going to 3 stores. i have to get back by 1:00 to meet kirk and make him lunch. and then it’s a few hours of relaxing/doing the laundry with kirk. and then when he leaves for the choir rehearsal it’s off to finish errands i didn’t finish in the morning or get to work on cleaning the house. of course, i enjoy this type of “work.” i want to be a housewife/mom and saturdays are the only day i get to. 🙂 by the way. a BPO is a broker’s price opinion.

  2. #2 by Kirk Ward on February 10, 2005 - 4:31 pm

    what a cutie!

  3. #3 by Jonathan Huffine on February 11, 2005 - 4:02 pm

    hey hey Kirk Ward, This is Jonathan huffine. I found you through Johnny T Tottens blog. Just wanted to say hello.

  4. #4 by Anthony Bradley on February 14, 2005 - 3:11 pm

    whoa, bro, that’s quite a promise you made. . .now the whole world is going to hold you accountable!!

  5. #5 by Kirk Ward on February 15, 2005 - 12:20 pm

    welcome Jonathan and Anthony!

