School’s Out for Summer!

It has been over a month since my last log entry, but I won’t let it get me down. It has been a busy month. I finished my semester at Covenant Seminary so I am relaxing during summer break. I hope to use the extra time to practice my guitar. After I saw the John Scofield Trio last month, I have gained new inspiration to work on my chops.

Last week, I was a man obsessed. Here’s why: I had a young guy join the team who is graduating from Westminster Christian who is an up-and-coming trombone player. I know someone else who can play trumpet on occasion, so I conspired to have a two-horn brass section with the band this past week. I furiously worked on horn arrangements all week long. It was so much fun to add a new refreshing element to familiar songs. They sounded very nice and I’ve received a long of positive feedback. Uh Oh, I may have set an unfortunate precedent. I can’t write four horn arrangements every week!

Leon Mukendi is our pastoral intern from the Congo. He is constantly giving me new songs to introduce from his native land. However, there is another group of Africans from Liberia who don’t have a ‘Leon’ to share their music with me. Every week, I wish that there was some way to make a connection to be able to learn their songs. You may ask, “Why is it so hard?” One reason that Leon is able to give me songs so easily is that he is in the office with me every week. My only contact with Liberians is every other Sunday (because they attend the South City service that I am at only half the time.) And on those Sunday’s, the Liberians, who receive rides from church members, arrive as I’m setting up for the music and depart as I’m taking equipment down. So, I have been torn between my responsibility to minister to them and my general responsibilities to the entire church body. Please, pray for me in this endeavor.

  1. #1 by Rob on June 12, 2005 - 2:01 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  2. #2 by Rob on June 12, 2005 - 2:05 pm

    Take Two….Kirk, I was glad to come accross your blog. I have appreciated the medium as a great way to build a community around a topic or project, (more than just an exercize in narcisistic journal keeping). Your reflections on worship at NCF are very keen, and I certainly apprecaite them. The guitar / bass corp down here in Chattanooga certainly feel your absense (and Ben Elkin’s absense), but I am confident that you have moved to bigger and better things. When I get my blog back running, I’ll post a link to your site…Thanks again –Rob Hatch

  3. #3 by Liz on June 27, 2005 - 5:29 am

    Dear Kirk,This is the first time I’ve visited your blog–not sure why I didn’t have it in my favorites list but it is now. I appreciated the comments on music and worship. Now that we attend a church where much of the music is unfamiliar and not exactly our style, I’m learning that I can worship as I stumble along anyway because I’m thinking more about the words then how the music makes me feel. I’ll be checking the blog regularly now. Love, Mom M.

