Search Me


I wrote a song this year that I had the privilege to share with both my home church in Chattanooga and my church here. When I was visiting my parents, I was able to sit in with the worship band at NCF-Chattanooga. It was exciting to hear my song performed by a large vocal ensemble and a seasoned band. Both congregations received the song well and I have gotten a lot of positive feedback about it.

It is a little scary to share a song that I have put a lot of effort and emotion into. When there is so much great music out there, it seems a little bold to presume that mine deserves to be heard.

The song is based on a verse from Psalm 139. It is intended to be simple and direct. It is a song designed to be sung as a prayer directly to the Lord.

Search me and know my heart
Test me and know my thoughts
See into me; is there any sin?
And Lord, lead me in
the everlasting way

Where there is fear
make me courageous
Where there is doubt
give me faith
Where there is pride
Lord, make me humble
Where there is silence
give me praise.

Search me and know my heart
Test me and know my thoughts
See into me; is there any sin?
And Lord, lead me in
the everlasting way


Jesus Your love
has made me righteous
for by Your wounds
I am healed
Jesus Your death
has paid the ransom
Your resurrection
gives me life

Search me and know my heart
Test me and know my thoughts
See into me; is there any sin?
And Lord, lead me in
the everlasting way

  1. #1 by Rob on July 21, 2005 - 8:06 am

    Kirk, it was an honor to play that tune with you in Chattanooga. I really like the tune and agreed with all here that it really needs a “big backing gospel choir” whenever you record it. Keep up the good tune-smith work.

  2. #2 by Kirk Ward on July 21, 2005 - 11:39 am

    Thanks Rob.Maybe someday I will get to record it. But no record deals at this point and no money to do it myself.oh well. God has me where He wants me.kw

  3. #3 by sis on July 22, 2005 - 10:25 am

    kirkus, i’d love to hear it!i’m so glad you’re writing! You make my creative juices bubble!

  4. #4 by JDub on July 23, 2005 - 5:40 am

    I was glad to hear a solid praise ballad with content from Scripture other than ‘lift him up’ and “I praise you.’ For all the great songs coming out of the commercial music biz, a lot of it is ‘dumbing us down’ to a few phrases for worship. Maybe you should stay in seminary…

  5. #5 by Kirk Ward on July 26, 2005 - 6:03 pm

    Thanks Dad. You are right about the limited phrases for worship songs. Sometimes when I hear yet another song with the exact same cliche’ lines it makes me laugh at how little creativity went into it. Seminary has helped; I hope I can take as much classes as possible.

