Where have all the bass players gone?


The bass is not a popular instrument to take up. A lot of bass players I know began on the bass because they wanted to be in a band but all the guitar spots were taken. It is also not much fun to sit around and play bass all by yourself when you are getting started. Guitar can provide the instant gratification of learning a song and being able to play it all by yourself.

I love playing bass. I think it is so much fun to lay down a cool bass line that really makes a song groove. When you can lock in with the drummer in such a way that it makes everybody sit up and start to move, it is really exciting. I would play the bass at church more often, but it is very difficult for me to lead songs from the bass. I get tripped up in the syncapation. It also means I can’t do as much to establish the feel and groove of the song.

The world is full of really cool bass players. Les Claypool, Victor Wooten, Edgar Meyer, Marcus Miller to name a few. There are bass players who have gone on to create solid solo careers like Sting and Paul McCartney. Gospel artist, Fred Hammond, is an excellent bass player.

So why is it that they can be ellusive?

I hereby decree that any individual who so desires to learn to play the bass shall receive by me free lessons to get started on the bass in the event that they aggree to play when requested in our South City service.

  1. #1 by peder e. horner on July 24, 2005 - 11:11 pm

    I completely agree with your musings on the bass. I’ve been a guitar for 15 years but really want to learn the bass. Too bad you can’t do distance learning. When I’m finished with residency, I’ll buy my wife a cello and myself an upright bass to learn bluegrass and jazz. Great blog! Thanks.:: peder ::

  2. #2 by Chris Trevino on August 3, 2005 - 3:19 pm

    Hey Kirk,I remember that you asked me before if I play bass. I don’t really, I only play root notes. But if you’re giving some lessons, I’d go for that!-Chris

  3. #3 by Kirk Ward on August 3, 2005 - 8:29 pm

    Chrisour big need for the bass is in the South City service, so if you would be willing to take the occasional road trip down there i would be game. splitting the band up into two services makes the job of assigning parts much harder because our numbers are cut in half. then again it also means that there’s more opportunities for lots of people to get involved.the point is that the more people we have in the pool means more depth off the bench. (mixed metaphore) so, I can give you some bass…uh…basics.

