Can I Get an Amen!

Say you, say me, say Lionel!

Lionel Richie could sing, he could write, he could even dance (on the ceiling of course).

His”Can’t Slow Down” record won the Grammy for Album of the year in 1984, and he co-wrote “We Are the World” with Michael Jackson, but after the 80’s, Lionel couldn’t get a hit. He performed this summer at the Essence festival (he was on between Maze and Black Eyed Peas).

Sarah and I just got his greatest hits, and I must say, “I am a Lionel Richie fan!”

Can I get an “Amen” for Lionel?

  1. #1 by Sarah on August 5, 2005 - 12:54 pm

    i will give a HUGE amen for lionel’s “you are.”

  2. #2 by katiek on August 5, 2005 - 2:14 pm

    hello? is it me you’re looking for?

  3. #3 by Renae in St. Louis on August 5, 2005 - 9:19 pm

    Mmmm…I haven’t listened to Lionel since high school, when I played his *LP* (that is, “vinyl,” for the hipper crowd) of that album whose cover you found, and I have to admit I can still come up with lyrics to “You Are,” “Say You Say Me”, “Hello”, “Lady”… but I’m not sure I can muster an “Amen.” Even nostalgia isn’t enough to overcome the datedness of those songs! I just can’t help associating him with those other mid-80’s pop stars… Billy Ocean (“you wake up, and suddenly, you’re in loo-oo-vve”), Paula Abdul (“baby just remember I gave you my heart/ain’t no one gonna tear us apart”), DeBarge (“to the beat of the rhythm of the night/we can dance until the morning light”), well, you’re beginning to see my point perhaps.How about an “Amen” for having revealed my age?

  4. #4 by Anonymous on August 8, 2005 - 4:38 pm

    Of course Lionel is the man – it’s about time you realized it! Why else would we have danced our first dance to one of his songs?

  5. #5 by Laini on August 8, 2005 - 4:41 pm

    By the way that was me that posted that last comment – I selected the wrong identity. My bad!

  6. #6 by Carrie on August 11, 2005 - 3:29 pm

    I was just talking about Lionel the other day with my Mom. Anytime I hear his songs on the radio it makes me kinda smile inside, because I’ve been hearing him on the radio since I was old enough to remember such things and so it’s kind of nostalgic. In fact, I think my dad’s still got the old LPs in his collection. Good stuff, good stuff!

