Eric Johnson Interview

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about the need for musicians to listen to music and absorb it to influence their own sound. Last week, I read this interview in Guitar Player magazine with Eric Johnson. (If you’ve never heard of him, its ok. The only people who know who he is are guitar players.)

GP: How did you move past your influences and nail the essence of your unique voice?

EJ: “For me, it was about becoming aware of particular musical qualities, assimilating them, and combining them. For example, I would really hone in on one aspect of Jeff Beck’s playing, such as his inventive use of semitones. I also noticed how the tone of the steel guitar really jumps out, so I studied the way steel guitar players pick up and away from the [guitar] body. I might try to play semitones like Beck, but I’ll try to pick them like a steel guitarist, and, all of a sudden, it’s a new thing.”

Get the full interview here.

