Death is Ended

It seems like there have been times in my life when I feel like I am surrounded with death. Right now, death is only standing on the perimeters of my various relationships, but hes there in the shadows. Several people on the music team at NCF have close relatives who are dying or have died. There is one of our NCF staff members whose life hangs from a thread. Headlines remind me every day about the body count in the gulf coast and the soldiers who are falling on the frontlines in Iraq. Death is working overtime this month.
Of course, I realize that all that has changed is my perception. Death is at work all the time; hes just not usually working so close to home. All year long, people are dying all over the world, all over this country, in St. Louis, in my neighborhood. Death does not take a vacation.
In the face of all this death, my wife and I are experiencing new life. Our daughter grows more and more every day. She bumps and flips around Sarahs belly all the time reminding us that she is alive. Keeping kicking, baby girl, dont let ol’ man Death take you before we get to meet you.
Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting? says the Apostle Paul quoting Hosea. It seems like these days that Death is strutting around doing an end zone dance. All of us have been stung by death. His sting is sin, and there is no one righteous. Every time I sin, it reeks of death, and I carry around my old sins like a dead corpse (imagine Fezzik carrying around the dead Westley in the Princess Bride)
princess_bride_261.jpg
Thanks be to God! Death has no victory. The Lord, Jesus Christ, defeated Death by dying on the cross and returning from the grave, alive. Alive and kicking, just like my daughter! I am thankful that Jesus never downplayed Death. As if Death were no small thing to defeat. Jesus wept at the grave of Lazarus, and when he faced eminent death in Gethsemane, he toiled in prayer until his sweat was like drops of blood. Death is a terrible thing. But, he has not defeated us. We have the victory in Christ.
Just remember, “Mostly dead is slightly alive.”
princess_bride_280.jpg

  1. #1 by katiek on September 8, 2005 - 2:36 pm

    Wonderful Kirk, it’s great to be uplifted by joy in Christ and slap stick comedy.

  2. #2 by Neil on September 8, 2005 - 4:18 pm

    Nice meditation, Kirk. A timely and encouraging reminder. I appreciated your recognition that it is really a change in perspective that creates this seeming increase in the pervasiveness of death. This is true for so many issues for me, be it realization of poverty or injustice, etc.
    Plus, on a personal note, currently I am the only other active co-author along with you and your wife on St. Louis Blogs, and I also attend New City. How about that? We have a lock so far. And if Amanda switched over it we would be four for four. Hopefully Sltblogs will get more people soon enough though.

  3. #3 by mason Neely on September 8, 2005 - 8:18 pm

    Kirk,
    I can appreciate your recent experiences. This is mess in the Gulf is just terrible. Sorry about those close to you. I hope that all is resolved shortly.
    At least we still have Andre the Giant….
    wait a minute.
    To quote Hunter S. Thompson-
    There he goes, one of God’s on prototypes…
    (Oh an even lighter note, you’ve permenantly put the song ‘Death is ended’ into my head. thanks a ton. It’s just your Dad and Tim Simpson singing it in a loop over and over and over again.
    In my mind, of course, they’re backed up by the Sons of Tundra, who, as an encore, promptly launch into their version of Eleanor Rigby, followed by the our bass/ drums cover of Live and Let Die.)
    maybe it’s not so bad after all….
    hah
    hugs and kisses,
    mason

  4. #4 by laini on September 8, 2005 - 8:51 pm

    Great reminder, great verse, great song, great movie….

  5. #5 by kirk on September 8, 2005 - 9:30 pm

    well, well, well, if it isn’t my old nemesis, i mean buddy, mason. Fear not, one day the Suns of Tundra shall rise forth as unto a mighty heard of caribou and behold, the people shall receive from their hands the rocking from which their socks shall be removed from yond feet henceforth.

  6. #6 by mason Neely on September 8, 2005 - 9:52 pm

    Nemesis. that’s damn near ridiculous. I mean really….
    It’s good to see that you haven’t forgotten your roots. And for the record, I still want to put that Live and Let die cover to tape when you have a chance. You’ve been playing drums, right?
    What’s your email?

