Gratuitous Blog Fodder

10 years ago: I was a sophomore at Chattanooga Christian School. I was writing songs mostly about girls who ignored me. I was playing in a band called “Celiac Spru,” and I had long hair that I pulled up into little pony tails when I was playing soccer.
5 years ago: I was a junior at the University of Tennessee. I lived in a tiny apartment off campus. It took me half an hour to walk to class, which was nice because I listened to music for the entire walk. I made money on the weekends doing game day parking for my landlord. My roommate and I were able to pick up MTV2 with our television’s antennae. I read the Lord of the Rings for the first time.
1 year ago: I was starting my first semester at Covenant Seminary. I had been married for only a few months and was getting acclimated to my new job at New City Fellowship, St. Louis.
Yesterday: I played “Precious Lord” at a funeral for Darwin White’s mother and went to class in the afternoon.
5 snacks I enjoy: M&M’s, Peanut Butter, Chocolate, Peanut Butter M&M’s, and carrots.
5 songs I know the words to: The Red Sweatshirt Song by Adam Sandler; “Who Needs the Kwicky Mart” as sung by Apu Masapemapedalon on the Simpsons; the entire B-side of Abby Road by the Beatles, “All the Things You Are” by Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein; “Glory to Glory to Glory” by Fred Hammond


5 things I’d do with $100 million: I would set up an inner-city arts program through our church, I would make a movie and release it myself, I would cover the budget shortfall of our church so I wouldn’t get fired, I would pay to have my dad’s old recordings digitally re-mastered, and I would do several recordings of my music. (100 million probably wouldn’t cover all of this.)
5 places I’d run away to: The coast of Kenya (never been there), the Rockies in Colorado, Banff in Canada, Hawaii (never been there either), into my wife’ arms in our home.
5 things I’d never wear: a spandex body suit, a Speedo, leather pants, a tie in the shape of a guitar, Christian T-shirts with illustrations of the crucifixion, blood, or nail spiked hands.
5 favorite TV shows: CSI Las Vegas, CSI Miami, CSI New York, the Simpons (seasons 1-10), New Scandinavian Cooking,
5 biggest joys: my wife laughing, having an entire morning to just read the bible and play guitar, my daughter kicking, the smell of seasons changing, Sunday afternoons
5 favorite toys: our digital camera, my rubber band ball, Sarah’s old field hockey stick, Sarah’s guitar, my wedding ring
5 people to pass this on too: I think everyone I know has done this thing already except maybe Aimee

  1. #1 by Aimee on September 28, 2005 - 11:32 pm

    !!!!!

