One Week of Fatherhood

On the couch
After a week of fatherhood, I have just a few thoughts to share about the experience:
1. The more time I spend around my newborn daughter, the more I relate to being a newborn. Even thought I am a grown man, I still have some of those same base instincts. I prefer to sleep bundled up and cozy. I perform the exact same bodily functions; I am just better at hiding them from the world. I like to eat comfort food when I am feeling exhausted or stressed. The warm touch from someone I love will do a lot to alleviate my fears and anxiety. If I could, I would wear PJs 24-7. In my deepest inner heart, I can see my complete helplessness and desperate dependence on my Father.
Heidi's Hat2. When I got married (not too long ago), I experienced several months of emotional extremes. The Lord has used my marriage to reveal the sins that I never knew were in me, and then he used my marriage to redeem my heart from those sins through trials and further submission to his will. Now, I am experiencing the same thing: new sin revealed, trials and submission, and redemption. The Lord has sovereignty designed the family to be like a super potent form of the church community.
3. I used to have trouble getting back to sleep if I woke up in the middle of the night. Thanks to my daughter, I have been cured of insomnia. Now, when my head hits the pillow and my eyelids close, I am out like a light.
4.Rules for late night feedings:
M is for Mommy, and M is for Milk.
D is for Dad, and D is for Diaper.
I have read things about how to get a baby to sleep (rocking, singing, swaddling, burping, etc.), but it is all vanity compared to the power of the breast and the diaper.
5. As a father, it is impossible to ignore my daughters cry for help. When I hear her cry in the middle of the night, no matter how tired I am I cannot ignore her cry. That is an irresistible force of paternal love. I am a father who sin has strongholds of sin in my heart, but my heavenly Father is full of perfect love. How much more will he listen to my cry for help? How much more will he see to my needs and preserve my life through his never failing love? Sometimes, like when I am changing her diaper, she screams bloody-murder even though I am doing her a great service by cleaning the mess off of her. How much more will my heavenly Father clean my mess off of me even if I am screaming blood-murder?
first bath

  1. #1 by Neil on December 22, 2005 - 3:33 pm

    Thanks for the good thoughts and blessings on you all.

  2. #2 by Dad on December 23, 2005 - 6:51 am

    I guess you know how to get mega hits on your blog now! Nothin’ like a baby.
    I love your insights on God’s fatherly love. I might have thought those things, but the main thing I remember was writing ‘Child of Bethlehem’ when you were a new born.
    Some sort of transfer of that feeling of looking at you as a baby with wonder just as the prophecies plowed about Jesus.
    See you soon.

  3. #3 by laini on December 23, 2005 - 12:37 pm

    Your daughter is TOO cute! What a sweetheart! I agree with you on all of your points, especially the insomnia issue. I used to have trouble sleeping as well, and now I am fast asleep within 5 minutes of going to bed (if I even make it to bed – I usually fall asleep in front of the TV every night)! After trying several methods to cure my sleep problems, who would have thought that all it would take was a little baby waking me up all night!
    Enjoy your first Christmas with her!

  4. #4 by Liz Meiners on January 3, 2006 - 9:07 pm

    Sleepless nights was one of the hardest things I faced with kids but somehow we got through as will you! Thanks for the comparisons and always remember what King David said, “when I awake, I am still with you”. I often felt God’s presense when I was awake at night and then in the morning when I was tired and had a day to face. Believe it or not, sometimes I wish to go back to those days of having all our little ones at home with us. Love, Mom Meiners

