The Heart of Worship

“I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about you; it’s all about you, Jesus.”
-Matt Redmann
I have shared this with a lot of people, but it is worth repeating. The past few months have been a blur of excitement. Sarah and I were pushed to the limit with our busy schedule. We only had two weeknights alone together, and much of my free time had to be devoted to studying. I fell into the classic “I’m too busy to pray” trap, and my relationship to the Lord Jesus became a religious ritual instead of a passionate love affair. In January, I began to see the fallout from living this way.
Jesus said, “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.” (John 15:4) As a “worship leader”, I can’t produce worship in spirit and truth when I am not in the vine. Week after week I began to feel like I was going through the motions.
One night, I was feeling particularly angry with God for not fixing it. I wanted him to just inject joy into my heart, but he seemed so distant. That night, I was holding my daughter because she was screaming. I didn’t know why she was screaming; I just knew that I couldn’t ignore her. I thought, “Joanna, why are you crying? You are crying for help but can’t you see that I’m right here holding you in my arms?” I guess that the Holy Spirit turned my questions on me, and I immediately remembered that Jesus had already purchased my life, he had already bound my life up in his, he was already holding me in his arms. I felt that Jesus was distant, and yet his word promises that he will never leave me.
I am rediscovering the love of my Savior, and turning the focus of the worship-stuff that I do every week back to the real heart of worship. The love of Jesus is the fuel of worship. The mercy of Jesus is the access to worship. The grace of Jesus is the vessel of worship. The glory of Jesus is the goal of worship. The joy of Jesus is fruit of worship.
I am coming back to the heart of worship, Jesus of Nazareth, the Christ. It is all about him.

Gratuitous Joanna Picture:

Smile for Granny

  1. #1 by Rinnie on February 4, 2006 - 7:28 am

    I have learned so much about the Lord, myself, and my relationship to Him through my children. Glad to see you doing the same. We love you guys, and can’t wait to see Sarah and Joanna soon, wish you could come too (although I’m sure the house of 8 females might be a little overwhelming!!!)

  2. #2 by Rinnie on February 4, 2006 - 7:30 am

    I have learned so much about the Lord, myself, and my relationship with Him through my kids – glad to see Him doing the same work in your life. 🙂

