Football, Furniture, and Family

A few random thoughts:
soccermonkey.jpg
1. World Cup Fever! I have a fever and the only prescription is more World Cup! I am like a man obsessed. I can’t seem to stop thinking about the world cup. I’m not sure why. My wife is especially confused because I never seemed to put any thought into international football before. All of a sudden, I feel compelled to constantly check scores and read about players and teams. I think I have always been a championship sports fan. Regular season play: a bore! Championship play: bring it on!
upsidedown1m.jpg
2. What is it about rearranging our furniture that makes me feel so mentally stimulated? I highly recommend flipping your living room around or putting your bed against a different wall to bring up your spirits. Maybe it’s because it makes you feel like you have a brand new house. Without getting into any kind of Feng Shui kind of philosophy, I wonder what kind of spiritual dynamics are at work that make rearranging feel so good. Is it like a tiny version of fulfilling the mandate to subdue the earth?

3. My family never seemed to put any stock into holidays like Father’s Day, Mother’s Day, or even anniversaries and birthdays. My wife’s family is quite the opposite. What about you? Would you be in trouble if you failed to send your dad a Father’s day gift?

  1. #1 by Rinnie on June 14, 2006 - 9:00 pm

    Glad you’re enjoying the World Cup so much.
    You sound like my in-laws with rearranging furniture – it seems like every time I go to their house stuff is in different places.
    We sure are a holiday celebrating family – more yummy food and presents that way!!!

  2. #2 by laura on June 15, 2006 - 12:17 am

    My family is fairly inconsistant when it comes to celebrations. Some years we’ll go all out and plan (let’s say) my brother, an elaborate B-day party. The next year however, we may forget to call the day of.
    The only holiday that we really get into is Christmas. The rest of the holidays often fall by the way-side, though I hope to change that as I love Easter.

  3. #3 by Carrie on June 27, 2006 - 1:37 pm

    My dad and I aren’t really in the habit of talking very often… we haven’t been since I was about 9 and he moved out and we lived in different cities (now states). We talk probably 4-6 times a year, and two of those are in June (his birthday usually falls about a week before Father’s Day, ironically). Somehow we always catch up but I often wonder what it would be like to have the kind of relationship where we talk all the time. All that said, I know his feelings would be hurt if I didn’t call him on Father’s Day!

