The Body Of Christ in Crisis




NCF seal commission

Originally uploaded by katiek2.

In the grand scheme of things, The Great Power Outage of ’06 was not very significant, but last week it had a pretty huge impact on the lives of everyone here in St. Louis. It was so wonderful to see the love of Christ revealed in simple acts of kindness and hospitality. My wife and I spent most of the week at Josh and Heather Henning’s house and they treated us like we were family. They offered to let us stay there overnight (we thought we would be more comfortable at home, but we were very wrong.) We even had some friends who wanted to hang out with us, and the Henning’s let us host our friends at their house. By Friday night when our power came back on, we were a little disappointed because we were having so much fun.

I know that we were not alone in being blessed by the fellowship of the body of Christ last week. Everyone I spoke with was either giving or receiving hospitality. I’m not an advocate for communal living, but it sure was fun to be sharing, talking, and hanging out together. Maybe this is a taste of the joy that the first Christians experienced during the beginnings of the church. See Acts 4:32-35.

The picture at the top is a painting that my sister, Katie Knutson, was comissioned to do for someone at NCF-Chatt. For more of her artwork check out her website or her blog.

  1. #1 by Laura on July 26, 2006 - 3:27 pm

    I was also (a little) sad to see the power restored because, similarly, I enjoyed the extension of hospitality and good will that was forwarded during the outage.
    Plus, I always like to think I could have made it out on the frontier and experiences like last weekend are good, very watered down, tests!

  2. #2 by katiek on July 27, 2006 - 2:47 pm

    Ohhhh, how neato! I would love to see Josh and Heather again someday. I am not envying your heatwave, although it’s not very cool down here either, I dont think we’re in the triple digits. Thanks for using my picture! I know many folks will enjoy it.
    The Bagby’s are enjoying it on their wall now!

