Why nothing for over two weeks?

A mess of extra-curricular events ‘n’ stuff has kept me preoccupied. What kind of events? Here’s a brief wrap-up.
Vocal Workshop
This event was on a Friday night and about a third of the vocalists on the team participated. It was a time to focus on some practical and spiritual dynamics of leading worship songs. There was a lot of positive feedback from it, and the South City group seemed to be the most affected by what we went over. Maybe I will share some of the stuff that I taught at the workshop on the ol’ blog sometime.
South City BBQ
Various delicious grilled meats were enjoyed as well as a very interesting pumpkin fruit dip that Mrs. Sara Taylor whipped up. Good times! David Taylor and Nicole James were bestowed with the leadership duties for South City Music Team. What does that mean? They do my job for me while sit back and write Monk-e-mails.
Annual Church Retreat
We had a blast this past weekend at Pinecrest Camp enjoying the fine weather, the roasted marshmallows (and roasted apples for some folks), and the hours and hours of music. I was given two solid hours of scheduled “Singing in the Chapel” on Saturday night. A two hour set is a lot for us church musicians who are used to filling 40 minutes on a Sunday morning. I was especially grateful to the Music Team folks who were there and jammed through the material I had prepared. Highlights included my predecessor, Jim Ward (no relation), leading “House of Faith” on my guitar. Now I have a giant box of music that has to be re-filed; I am tempted to throw it away instead of going through all that effort.
I am currently preparing for a trifecta of Music Team events in October, the conclusion of which will make my Halloween extra sweet:
International Concert
Bonhomme Presbyterian’s Mission Conference
Reformation Day Service at “The Kirk”

  1. #1 by Sarah Ward on October 4, 2006 - 7:02 pm

    TRIFECTA?????

  2. #2 by Neil E. Das on October 4, 2006 - 8:04 pm

    Mike and Jim rocking the house of faith.

  3. #3 by kirk on October 5, 2006 - 9:29 am

    thanks for the video Neil!

  4. #4 by Heidi Vincent on October 5, 2006 - 10:13 am

    The retreat WAS great! Trifecta? Like a horse race? Must google. That video’s priceless!

