Keith and Kristyn Getty

getty.jpg
I will always remember the first time I heard Keith Getty and Stuart Townend’s song, “In Christ Alone.” It was Easter Sunday, and I remember weeping at poignancy of the words and how well they captured the intensity and gravity of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Since then, I have experienced the quality of Townend’s music in songs like “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us,” “Say The Word” and “Beautiful Savior.” Sarah’s mom gave us a CD of Keith and Kristyn Getty’s music, and I have been deeply impressed with their writing as well.
I heard a radio interview online this morning with Keith and Kristyn. You should listen to it, too. It may inspire some of you to get out a journal and a guitar and start writing.
This is a link to the interview
This is their website: http://www.keithgetty.com/

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on February 7, 2007 - 11:34 am

    Thanks for sharing. I really appreciate Keith’s perspective of delivering messages that “infuse our minds with truth” by focusing on both content AND appeal. I must say, it can be frustrating to get a lyrically shallow song stuck in your head just on the basis of it’s “singablity,” as it is also, a bummer to fall in love with lyrics of a piece, but soon forget its message because the tune in not stirring enough to keep it in your memory.
    Not so sure what he was getting with his comment about “taking the temperature of the church by the vibrancy of hymnity,” but if he means lyrical content I would agree.

