Dependence

This week, I realized how much I depend on Sarah and Joanna and how much I need them with me all the time. I went for two weeks without them and now that they are back, I know how much joy and life they bring to me.
I also found out how much I depend on my computer. On Wednesday, when I went in to work, my computer was non-responsive. As it turns out, it had not crashed; it just had a bad power supply. So, this morning our volunteer tech support, Jerry, had diagnosed the problem and my computer is back in action. Trying to work on a Windows 98 replacement on Wednesday made me see how desperately I need my computer to do my job.
I was able to survive without my family, but life was so drab and pointless without having them there. I was able to do some work without my computer, but it was so frustrating and slow. As the song goes, “you don’t know what you’ve got ‘till its gone.”
Light and life, the Alpha and Omega, the Living Head, the Cornerstone, were would I be without you? On the cross, the Father removed His divine favor, from the Son. I wonder what that was like. What would it feel like to have the Lord’s presence, His compassion, His sustaining grace, completely removed from our lives?

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on March 9, 2007 - 1:23 pm

    Life without God would be dry, and pointless. Imagining Jesus’ separation from God is really hard. How frighteningly lonely?
    Thank you Jesus for choosing us over yourself. Thank you God for giving us earthly families to manifest your refreshing and purposeful plan. Welcome back Sarah and Joanna!

  2. #2 by Liz Meiners on March 12, 2007 - 4:14 am

    Kirk, thanks so much for the two weeks we had with Sarah and Joanna. It was wonderful but I know a real sacrifice on your side! Love, Mom

