All the Vain Things




Coreina Onsie – Peach

Originally uploaded by kirksarahjoanna.

“All the vain things that charm me most, I sacrifice them to His blood.” -Isaac Watts

In the face of the death of a toddler girl in my church, what can you say? Lord, can I hold on to my daughter forever? You have not asked me to lay Joanna on the alter like Isaac, but if you took her from me could I still say “God is good all the time”? She is definitely charming, but would I say that my own daughter is a “vain thing”?

Lord, increase my faith.

  1. #1 by Renae on May 24, 2007 - 11:26 am

    Yeah… yeah. ALL the time. Help my unbelief.
    My first inclination (after my heart dropped into my stomach) was to want to hold my kids tighter.
    But then I remembered, that’s not what God has called me to do.

  2. #2 by liz meiners on May 28, 2007 - 3:23 am

    Just heard of a missionary mom killed in Uganda while walking down the road. She left behind a husband and four children. So sad yet in God’s providence. I keep looking at Dad and thanking the Lord for every day He has given us together and for protection for the days ahead. We are praying for that for each of our children and their children. Thanks for reminder of the fact that God’s goodness is not dependent on circumstances but on His perfect character. Love, Mom

