Bedrock Amps

I am in the market to buy a new amplifier. I have a really nice one already, but I would like to get another one so that I don’t have to haul my one amp back and forth all the time.
My current amp is called a Bedrock. When I was in 10th grade I was in a band called “Celiac Spru” and I needed to get an amp that rocked. Our primary influences included Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Rage Against The Machine, Primus, Dinosaur Jr, and Sonic Youth (although I was the only one interested in Sonic Youth). So my parents surprised me and bought me my first guitar amp, the Bedrock, with the understanding that I had to paint my dad’s studio by the end of the summer. My parents picked the Bedrock because it was only $300 marked down from $900. Today I learned why it was marked down so much…
I was totally thrilled about the amp. It wasn’t a Marshal Stack, which would have been more appropriate to the style of Celiac Spru. But I was still glad for it. The Bedrock can be extremely loud when it wants to be and I definitely had the power to blow away the amp stack that our other guitarist was using. Later when I moved on to being interested in jazz, the Bedrock came right along with me. I started out playing my Fender Strat, but the Strat is very uncool in the world of traditional jazz. You have to get something more resonant to play traditional jazz. So, I ended up buying a friend’s Gibson Howard Roberts. Ever since, the combination has been my tonal canvas on which to create. Now, guitar players are often commenting on the quality of my tone, and it all happened by accident.
So today I was looking on the internet to find out more about my little friend the Bedrock. I found out that Bedrock went out of business a few years back, which explains the price reduction. They began as a source for quality tube amps when Fender and Marshal started only making solid state amps. When Fender and Marshal repented of their past sins and went back to tubes, Bedrock went under.
Here’s the Bedrock newsletter from better times: (you can see my good ol’ Lead 50C in the bottom left hand corner. Mine looks a little more “loved.”)

  1. #1 by Heiidi Vincent on June 8, 2007 - 7:45 am

    Now that we southies don’t have to set up and tear down it seems only fair that the leader shouldn’t have to lug his amp back and forth.
    Hooray Grace church!
    “Celiac Spru” creative name. I can’t imagine how it came about. Reminds me of trees and the digestive system.

  2. #2 by kirk on June 8, 2007 - 10:18 am

    Celiac Spru is a gastric disease that makes a person unable to eat wheat based foods. Our bass player’s dad has Celiac Spru and so he provided the name for us.
    One night when I was bored, I started an AOL chat room called Celiac Spru and some guy come in there who had it and thought it was a kind of support group thing. We ended up having a very interesting chat.

  3. #3 by Heidi Vincent on June 8, 2007 - 10:39 am

    AOL chat room-now that takes the cake (gluten-free cake perhaps).

  4. #4 by mason on June 9, 2007 - 11:32 pm

    As a member of Celiac Spru, let it be said I had nothing to do with the name. But I think, at the time, you were the only one vibing on Sonic Youth.
    What was the record you were listening to the time at the time? Jet Pack no orbit? No liftoff. It had Kim Gordon singing the same atonal semi tone for every note of every melody. Very unintentionally Indian.
    I could be wrong… Though I did accidentally discover your opening chord of “Extra Mild” the other day. Spooky.
    As far as amps go, I’ve heard good things about the new Fenders, not even the Twins, but the 15 and 20′ Blues Juniors. I think the 15 has one tone knob, which sounds amatuerish, but I would imagine all your amps are miked on stage, so a little guy like that could go a long way…
    hugs and kisses, m

  5. #5 by Peter K. on June 25, 2007 - 11:16 pm

    Hey, you know G.E. Smith used to play Bedrock amps way back when… He’s more of a blues-rock guy though.

  6. #6 by Dad on July 16, 2007 - 3:21 pm

    I am fulfilling my dutiful daily time online, and lo, a story about our younger days! Yes, your mom and dad got it ’cause it was affordable, and gear is still a major concern for all us pro musicians. I always had friends who were up to their eyeballs in red ink over music gear of all descriptions. The story was told of a band back in the eighties called Sweet Comfort Band that each member of the band was $85,000 in debt when they broke up. Of course, you could cash in your online account and that would free up $30-$40 a month. This is a musician talkin’. Seriously, have you looked at the Line 6 stuff? It might give you some options until you can afford a more substantial investment, i.e., after your kids are grown. 🙂
    Dad

