Courage

Yesterday, I witnessed a uncomfortable situation. I was riding my bike and I saw a man yelling and cursing at a woman out on the front lawn of a house that I ride past. He had her arms in a tight grip and I could see that she was crying. I knew that this man was in a rage and that he was getting violent. I circled around. I knew that I had to pass by to get home, but I was afraid to step in and do something. I knew that she was in danger of his rage, and I knew that she needed someone to help her.
I am not a violent man, but I have been assaulted before and it’s not something I would want to repeat. I know that I am not much good in a fight because I am not very strong or fast or smart about fighting. So when I was trying to decide what to do I knew I could either ride away ignoring them, or I could approach the man and get beat-up. I could hear him in my head already, “Why don’t you keep on riding and mind your own business or do you want me to beat your ass, too?”
In the heat of the moment, I decided to ride back around the corner where there was a police officer and ask him to check it out. After speaking with the police officer, I rode back around the corner and they were gone. Maybe they saw me staring and took their domestic dispute inside.
It made me think about my Lord Jesus. He didn’t run from the fight. He didn’t think about his own safety first. He placed his body in the path of the just wrath of the Father. I didn’t deserve to rescued, but Jesus laid down his life for me.
Last night, I felt pretty cowardly. Why can’t I be like Bruce Willis or John Wayne? I felt emasculated and weak. Hanging out with the team that is going to London with me helped me to refocus my heart. This verse from “Before the Throne Of God Above” says it all:
When Satan temps me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within
Upward I look and see Him there
who made an end of all my sin
Because the sinless Savior died
My sinful soul is counted free
For God the Just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me
What would you have done?

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on July 12, 2007 - 2:56 pm

    amen brother.

  2. #2 by Heidi H. on July 12, 2007 - 6:21 pm

    Honestly, Kirk, it sounds like you thought pretty quickly in a dangerous situation. An armed police officer would most likely offer the best help to the woman. Plus he has the means to get her out and to a safe place.
    I work in the domestic violence field, and a lot of people just don’t want to get in other people’s business. I think if you would have thought “Poor woman” and kept riding, that would have been cowardly, but not what you did.
    Since it’s near where you live, maybe you can keep an ear out for sounds of fighting or struggle in the house in the future, and call the cops if you hear it…

