Simpsons Reveiw and Mac Ad Parodies

Here’s a review of the Simpson’s movie on Christianity Today. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I really appreciated this guy’s articulation of what is good about the Simpsons.
I also saw these clever Mac ad parodies. They are sort of about the “emergent church” culture. I thought the one called “Counselor” was the funniest.

  1. #1 by katiek on August 11, 2007 - 8:06 am

    those apple ad parodies are great. I’ll hafta clue my pastor in to them, he’d love to show them at church.

  2. #2 by Neil E. Das on August 11, 2007 - 1:58 pm

    Hey, Kirk. I watched 3 of these so far and they are very cleverly and well done. Still, I get a weird feeling watching them. In a sense, they seem like beating a dead horse or, perhaps, oddly not very charitable. I must add, that though, I have not done much reading about it, I am not huge on the emergent church. Finally, I suppose the ads just make me want to make similar parodies highlighting the shortcomings of the emergent church, and that can’t be a good response to have. Finally, finally I think the outside world would look at these and simply yawn and say “Ho hum, there are those Christians trying to be relevant again,” and merely view these videos as a part of an in-house dialog.
    Thanks for posting them.

  3. #3 by kirk on August 11, 2007 - 5:30 pm

    neil,
    i’m totally with you on your thoughts. i also felt a little weird about how much of a jab they seemed to make at “Christians”. I have had to get over myself to be able to love “Christians” because I too have a strong aversion to WWJD bracelets, Christianese language, and other purely cultural trappings of American churchy folk.
    There is a part of the emergent movement that borders on heretical (for example: lets do away with out of date theologies like say, the Trinity). However, there is also a perfectly good and natural reformational process that the “emergent church” is part of which is just a matter of the gospel becoming incarnate in each generation and culture.
    What I find funny is the comparison to Macs and PCs. In a way that makes the whole debate about as important in the grand scheme as deciding what kind of computer to buy. (of course just like the original adds, these videos are not impartial, they are designed to show how the old order is lame, irrelevant, and obsolete.)
    I guess I just like how they create good discussion and healthy re-evaluation of the church.

