Bad Blackout Date Emails

Every month, I ask the members of the Music Team to share their blackout dates. I do this so that if someone knows ahead of time that they will be unavailable on a specific date then they can avoid the hassle of having to find a sub. So, for the benefit of anyone on the Music Team, here’s a little tutorial on how to write a good blackout date email.
GOOD
I am unavailable Sept 2 and 9
BAD
Kirk, my brother is coming in town and I really want to spend time with him so would it be ok if the first week was a blackout for me. The last weekend is fine for me but there is a remote chance that I might have to work. I will let you know about October, but it might be that on the 17th I will be going out of town, and I might not get back into town until the evening of the 20th, so I might not be able to do that weekend. Oh yeah! the 9th, too.
These emails end up being like a logic puzzle. Sometimes I have to read it a few times, taking notes just to discern what dates they are talking about.
I love you people, but you’re driving me crazy with stuff like this!!!

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on August 23, 2007 - 12:32 pm

    Although conciseness in not my gift, I HAVE managed to bold and/or color-coat the unavailable dates. Nice eh? Tee hee.

  2. #2 by Tanya on August 23, 2007 - 3:03 pm

    ha ha… thanks for the reminder. Maybe you could create a Music Team Logic Puzzles book and we can solve each others black out dates in our free time.

  3. #3 by Heidi Vincent on August 23, 2007 - 3:09 pm

    Good idea Tanya. Mine would fall toward the back of the book. Grimace.

  4. #4 by Amanda on August 26, 2007 - 10:32 pm

    I laugh…as I try to remember if I do that…eek!

  5. #5 by Carrie on October 3, 2007 - 6:27 pm

    Uh oh… I think I might be guilty as charged. 😀 Sometimes I just don’t know for sure what my plans are 6 weeks from now (not because I don’t like planning, but because usually any “plans” I have are not my responsibility to plan…sigh). I’ll try to be concise from now on, Kirk.
    On a side note, I LOVE LOVE LOVE logic problems. That’s my favorite thing to do in an airport while I’m sitting and waiting by myself.

