Get to work, songs!

My dad was in town a few weekends ago and he planted an idea in my brain that has been cooking for a while: My songs are financial assets. Making music is a wonderful thing that is about more than money, but it is also a craft for which I can make a living. I am already making a living through music ministry and music instruction. I shared with my dad that I really want to record another CD. The problem is that making a recording is so expensive. You can do it for cheap, but I think my songs are better than that. I want to do justice to the songs. My dad told me to think more broadly than just pressing 300 copies and selling them to my friends. He suggested to make a recording that would be marketable to performing artists who are looking for material to record. For example, why wouldn’t Chris Tomlin want to record my song “Search Me” on his next CD (besides the fact that he’s never heard of me)? I need to make my recording with the expectation that it will be a demo of my music.
So now my mind is cooking about my songs getting out in the world to make me some money. Like my little army of flying monkeys.

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on September 7, 2007 - 9:04 am

    Little army of flying monkeys? Tee hee. I think you should go for it! Any more thoughts on getting people together to write music collaboratively?

  2. #2 by laini on September 7, 2007 - 8:31 pm

    My mom made a comment a while back about how much she loves your CD. She asked if there were anymore for her to buy and I told her not yet because making CDs are a lot of money. So she told me to remind her “when” she wins the lottery (which of course she does NOT play) to not forget you! Too bad that is never going to happen, but at least you have a big fan out there willing to back you if for some reason she ever strikes it big!

  3. #3 by Neil E. Das on September 22, 2007 - 4:09 pm

    I think that this is a fine goal for you, Kirk, and by that I mean good and proper and not just OK. I am in the middle of reading “The Call,” and, my goodness, it is knocking my mental socks off. I highly recommend it as it applies to such questions.

