If You Go To Church At New City Fellowship You Have To Read This!

This blog post was incredibly encouraging. It’s a bunch of observations by a guy who visited my church who is not a Christian. Please read it here and then come back if you want to read my comments…
It makes me realize several things:
– no matter how discouraged I might feel at times about our work at NCF, it’s still an amazing place to be. Get behind me Satan!
– sometimes I feel so at home and normal at NCF that I don’t see how bizarre we are to outsiders.
– the gospel, when you live it out, really freaks people out.
here’s the scariest thing it made me see:
-people are sitting in the folding chairs every weekend, drawing conclusions, making judgments-good or bad-about who we are and what we do.

  1. #1 by meg norris on October 30, 2007 - 5:13 pm

    wow, that is really interesting and encouraging to read. it makes me excited to be a part of what God is doing at New City.

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on October 31, 2007 - 8:47 am

    Cool. I printed it off to read on my break…uh my official break.

  3. #3 by Rinnie on October 31, 2007 - 10:04 pm

    Wow, that’s really neat, Kirk. How affirming to have an “outsider” realize that NCF is doing what they hope to do. What a fun description of your music, too!!

  4. #4 by Peter K. on November 13, 2007 - 12:09 pm

    So in reading that posting, if I recall correctly, that was the week we did “Wamilele Mungu” and conga lines formed throughout the gym, err sanctuary. That doesn’t happen every week. So I can relate to the “whoa…” factor.
    It was one of those weeks where you could really feel that special “something” in the air, in the surroundings, in the people, in the spirit.

