Gary Smith’s Funeral

There are certain aspects of ministry that are never fun. Today, I had to lead a group of musicians at the funeral of Gary Smith. Gary was the 21 year old son of a woman who sings with our team at church. He was shot on Thanksgiving night by someone who thought he was someone else.
There are few times when a musician has the undivided attention of an audience. One of those times is a funeral. It makes me feel like David when he played the harp for Saul. It’s an incredibly intimate experience between a musician and the audience. Especially when I know that every note I play has significance in that moment to the people who were the most affected by the loss.
Don’t mistake my language; there is nothing that I like about playing at a funeral. There is nothing good about a young man being murdered.
O come O come Emanuel.

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on November 29, 2007 - 3:21 pm

    Undivided attention is right. I can’t tell you how powerfully God used the music today. You know, I could hear Donna singing “Because of Who You Are” in my head and I really “got it”. Who God is, is what life’s about. Everything is fleeting but He remains the same. That’s truly remarkable!
    Blessings to you as you let God lead the music you provide.

  2. #2 by Dad on December 12, 2007 - 7:02 am

    Thanks, Kirk, for being faithful, even when it is hard and scary.

