Scripture for the New Year

“Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.” -Psalm 116:7

This is my theme verse for the upcoming year which I have added to the banner of my blog. It’s short and simple to remember when I am having a rough time. I am planning on reciting it to myself during sleepless nights as I rock my son back to sleep. I plan on remembering it in times of anxiety at work. I plan on meditating on it when I get lost in the daily bustle.
On of the great blessings that the Lord gives us is rest. It was one of the first things He instituted in our lives after He created the universe. He set aside a whole day of the week for us to just chill out and relax. He wants us to be able to stop and enjoy the lives He has blessed us with. Worship is rest. It is a time to cease striving and to meditate on God’s goodness. Pagan gods demand that their worship be about how much are you willing to suffer and toil to show your reverence. But, the worship of the true God is more like a big feast like the one in the parable of the prodigal son. We stand at the throne and celebrate that Jesus has opened the way into the Father’s prefect rest.
I had a wonderful time of rest this past week with my family. Most of our time was spent at a house out in the country where my wife’s family congregated and relaxed together. There were whole days where I never left the house and I just relaxed. I learned how to solve the Rubik’s cube. I wrote a song. I played with my daughter and nieces. I slept in. It was a taste of heaven.

  1. #1 by Rinnie on January 4, 2008 - 12:22 pm

    I’m glad you thought it was restful and not just crazy with my kids running around!! I didn’t realize you wrote a song – can’t wait to hear it sometime!

