Short and Sweet Reviews

KT Tungstal – Eye to the Telescope
Soulful and hip, but not particularly a major keeper. I like the second half of the CD when the songs get less tweaked and are more straight forward.
Buena Vista Social Club
Very relaxing. My wife likes it too which means that it can be played during dinner preparation.
They Might Be Giants – Here Come The ABCs
An instant classic. My daughter is obsessed. The only downside: the songs get stuck in my head really easily and then start playing in my brain in the middle of the night.
James Ward – No Violence
My new favorite because of the “No Violence”- “He Shall Be Satisfied” combo.
The Shins – Wincing The Night Away
I haven’t listened to it enough to soak it all up. Here’s my first impression: it’s iPod music. There’s so much texture that would be lost coming out of your car speakers. I need to listen more to get a sense of the songs themselves. My first few passes have just left me with the textures.

Bonus Book Review- Treasure Island

Yarg! Shiver me timbers! I can’t wait till my kids are old enough that we can read this book together.

  1. #1 by katiek on January 22, 2008 - 8:24 am

    Thanks for the short reviews! I love Buena Vista, I can’t sit still when I listen to it! Does it speed up dinner preperation? Maybe I need to try that. The ABC’s are particularly infectious. We found a few numbers songs on Youtube. TMBG’s are releasing a numbers album in Feb. They have a podcast for kids all through Jan in itunes. The Hi-Five song is in my head, right now. I’ve been enjoying Mourning to Dancing. Holy Observer has been my fave. And I love the Shins.

  2. #2 by Sam on January 27, 2008 - 7:43 pm

    Hey, you should try out the TMBG’s first children’s recording, “NO”. It’s got some classic cuts too. Highly recommended for this Ward house to yours…

  3. #3 by Dad on January 28, 2008 - 6:54 am

    I never read Treasure Island to you, but I read Treasure Island as a kid. My mom read beaucoup books to me. What happened? Argh. I guess I substituted music.

