A Trip to the Doctor

Today I went to the doctor for the first time in probably a decade. I’ve been having issues with my stomach. The doctor thinks that I probably have a bit of an ulcer and some reflux issues. So, I’m going to take some acid reducing meds for a few weeks and see if it helps.
All of this is a little embarrassing, and humbling. It was really hard to get up the nerve to go the doctor for help. It feels like I’m being a weeny. Bruce Willis didn’t pause while battling a skilled team of terrorists to complain that his tummy hurt.
It’s also a little taste of mortality. I’m no longer 18. I suffer from the effects of aging even in my 20s. It’s no big deal, but it just makes me a little melancholy.

  1. #1 by katiek on February 5, 2008 - 7:51 am

    I think tackling your weight and excersize level is an impressive move for you Kirk. That’s what most of us fall victim too in our 20’s. But I hear you. I go to the Dr. probably more often that you (because I’ve had bebes), but I’ve realized my lack of activity leaves me with a hurting back, poor sleep habits and creaking knees. It’s about discipline for me. But I definately am feeling older. It’s a good wake up call. We will pray for your stomach that you won’t have to be on meds for very long and that God will show you what changes to make. Luv you!

