This Song Is Offically Retired


I felt a little sick after watching this. Why in the world…who do they think…what is the…how in the name of all…I can’t even…ugggg. Are there any “Idol” fans out there that can explain this to me?

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on April 11, 2008 - 2:35 pm

    I’ve been really surprised how many blatantly Christian songs American Idol has performed this season. A few weeks back they did JESUS IS ON THE MAIN LINE (didn’t see it). And Dolly did a song called “JESUS AND GRAVITY” (again didn’t see it). I’m not sure how I feel about it.

  2. #2 by katiek on April 11, 2008 - 3:55 pm

    If I have to see that Irish chick pull the mic away from her squinty-over-projecting-face one more time I’m going to be sick. But yeah, that does make me a little queezy.

  3. #3 by Neil E. Das on April 11, 2008 - 5:31 pm

    Yeah, they changed “My Jesus” to “My Shepherd” so one can pour whatever meaning one wants to in it. In some ways it is a bit like someone taking one of your families stories and passing it off like one of their own. Now, mind you I would delighted if they actually wanted to join the family and then sing it 🙂

  4. #4 by laini on April 11, 2008 - 8:32 pm

    Yeah, Ben and I couldn’t figure out what was going on when we were watching it (I use the term “we” loosely, as I was the one watching American Idol and Ben was just in the room!). They sang it two nights in a row too (the second day they DID sing “My Jesus”). It was kind of bothersome to me, cuz that song has a lot of meaning to our family (we sang it at our wedding). But out of curiosity, does it bother you as much when non-christians sing other christian songs, most commonly “Amazing Grace”? Black artists sing gospel songs all the time, and then of course you have all the Christmas songs that secular artists love to sing. Was this really any different?

  5. #5 by Carrie on April 12, 2008 - 9:45 am

    I wonder if any of the contestants are Christians, and if so, what he/she thinks about this since they actually know some of the other contestants well enough by now to have a sense of how horribly hypocritical it all is.
    Since when is it “hip” to sing about Jesus? What on EARTH does that mean for us (actual worship leaders, in the context of church or outreach events) when we are trying to draw people into worship of the true God, and we have to compete with Idol? Ugh.

  6. #6 by Peter K. on April 12, 2008 - 4:31 pm

    While I don’t watch the show or much TV at all and didn’t hear about this until Kirk mentioned it this afternoon, the thing that kind of stuck out to me was, sure We all know this song (and I kind of miss the power ballad rendtion we used to do…) but to take the “from the outside” view of: what if you have never heard the song before? And you liked it? And wanted to find out more about it? Are you so cynical that you don’t think that’s possible?
    Say you’re one of the 30 million average John and Jane six-packs watching “American Idol” on the tee-vee and you hear this song and you think “Oh that’s nice – What are they talking about? This is about Jesus – Huh?!”
    Maybe it’s not the best way of spreading the word (especially whitewashing “Jesus” with “Shepard” what the heck was that?) but it is still that – spreading the word, albeit in a manner that many of us might deem completely inappropriate, but others may view as a Good Thing. Whatever Fox’s actual ulterior motives may be, they might be trying to sell something other than Christianity, who knows?

  7. #7 by Peter K. on April 12, 2008 - 4:36 pm

    Hrmm. Guess I should have read the post above this one before replying. Bah. Nevermind then. :-\

  8. #8 by Heidi Vincent on April 12, 2008 - 9:23 pm

    That’s a good point Peter. I remember hearing a Jars of Clay song and not knowing much about Jesus-honestly, I thought of Him like I thought of Buddha: wise but hyped up a bit. I was in High school; I thought everything was hyped up a bit. Unfortunately, going to a small catholic elementary school didn’t teach me a whole lot, or if it did, I was too small to remember. Anyway, shortly after hearing The Jars of Clay “He didn’t die for nothing… song I rented the musical “Jesus Christ Superstar”. In that musical, Jesus doesn’t rise from the dead (not written by Christians) but God used it powerfully to draw me closer to Him. I was SO excited to read about Him in the Bible.
    I think the question I have now, and have had for a while, is how we can use our culture’s increasing acceptance of singing/talking about Jesus to encourage genuine relationships with Him. Yes, they are probably confused about what true worship is, but so was I at one point.
    So great to hear peoples opinions!

  9. #9 by Dad on April 14, 2008 - 9:57 pm

    What did the Apostle Paul say about the gospel being heard even if the ones who were doing it had impure motives? God has a way of getting the last word.
    It does look like a scene out of a movie like Steve Martin did a few years ago in which he was a travelling evangelist– “Leap of Faith.”

  1. Help me reach 1000 blog comments « Worship In The City
