Salvador Lead Singer and Valasquez Married?!

jaciandnic200x150p-january2007.jpg
I just read this cool interview on Christianity Today about the marriage of Jaci Velasquez to Salvador’s Nic Gonzalez. It seems a little too perfect doesn’t it. You can almost imagine the marketing execs in the bowels of the Nashville hit-machine sitting around dreaming up a crazy sham marriage scheme like when Troy McClure married Marge’s sister, Selma in this one episode of the Simpsons.
I enjoyed reading the interview because it really showed the normal, real-life marriage and relationship issues that they have. I especially liked reading this response from Nic about how marriage has affected his songwriting:

Gonzalez: The impact of marriage was an amazing thing for me, as well the impact of my wife being pregnant during the writing of [Salvador’s] record. Personally, I found I had become a little less interested in giving God thanks for the everyday things, like my health, the health of my wife, and the fact that we had food to eat. I kind of took those things for granted for a while. I was so used to working hard, and by the labor of your own hands you feel like you can accomplish anything. I don’t know if it’s the blood or just something in me that says I can make things happen; I just have to work hard at it to do it. But at the same time, God has allotted these things for me. God has allowed me to have these things. So I realized I don’t want to be ungrateful. Instead, I wanted to be the guy that says, “You know what, God? I’m going to take a step back and write songs that honor You and tell You I’m glad where I am.”

I can totally relate to Nic here. As a single guy, I wrote a lot of heady songs about theological concepts. Being married and having kids has made me much more conscious of God’s daily portion of grace to meet my basic needs. The songs I’ve been writing lately have been very practical and real.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

