Hosanna Video


Holy Ghost Crazy Noise!
A few observations:
1) This is such a great song and it is straight up disco. Some folks would say that disco would not be an appropriate style of music to use in worship and I would present this song as evidence to the contrary.
2) Notice how KF’s choir is all on mics. There’s no condenser mics floating over their heads or whatever. That tells me that they way to get that hot, contemporary gospel sound out of a choir is to have them on mics. Last weekend when our youth choir performed this song, they had to battle the band’s dynamics and we, the band, were pulling back on our dynamics a-lot. Hmmmm….
3) I need an outfit like Kirk Franklin’s to lead worship. There’s just something about white tails…

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on May 16, 2008 - 1:47 pm

    I love how Kirk Franklin’s conducts with dancing (roger rabbit even). In my opinion, this is one of his best songs.
    P.S. Why use floating mics when you can use floating choir members?

  2. #2 by bhuffine on May 19, 2008 - 11:16 am

    My observations:
    1) This is a great song. I can’t help but tap my foot while listening to it.
    2) I kept getting distracted/annoyed by KF yelling “What’s his name?” right before the line “Hosanna forever we worship you.” Hosanna is not his name. Hosanna is a cry of praise meaning “Save” or “Save us.” It is not, in fact, a name for Christ. I know that I shouldn’t be so anal and easily distracted, but …
    Other than that, it is a great song. 😉

Leave a Reply

