A rough night

The house is completely quiet except for the clicking sound of the computer keyboard. My 2 year old daughter is learning about the power she possesses through having a “big girl bed.” Last night she excersized that power by waking up a 1:00 AM and walking into our bedroom. We spent the next couple of hours putting her back in bed and then waiting 5 minutes before she came back into our bedroom. She does seem to have a little bit of a temperature, so we were cutting her a lot of slack, but it was a little frustrating. My solution was to put her in bed and then sit in her room for half an hour until she drifted off. I felt like a prison guard.
In classic Murphy’s law fashion, just when my daughter was asleep, my newborn son woke up ready for a feeding.
Now thanks to a low cloud cover that has made it a dark sunrise, the whole family except me are sleeping in.

  1. #1 by Emma on May 22, 2008 - 8:15 am

    Yeah for sleeping in! Asa’s still in his crib because we don’t have room for a “big boy bed” but the side is down so he can get out. Sometimes I get two little visiters in the middle of the night wanting to sleep with me. At least I don’t make them lie on the floor like my dad used to do with me. 🙂

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on May 22, 2008 - 9:29 am

    😦 That’s hard especially because you probably expect it from Sam but not so much from Joanna.
    Man, sometimes I’m surprised my parents made it through having twins when I hear about how hard it is with two kids not so close in age. My mom said that we always woke each other up so they were up way too much. At that point in our lives, their entire focus finding times to sleep so that they didn’t go nuts. Thankfully, my older siblings learned how to wear us out during the day so things got better.

  3. #3 by Liz Meiners on May 22, 2008 - 11:05 am

    Kirk, you’re such a great Dad and husband. Thanks for caring for Sarah in so many ways. Letting her sleep is just one of the many. Love, Mom

  4. #4 by Dad on May 26, 2008 - 7:28 pm

    There’s a reason we have wrinkles, aching joints, and gray hair and our children’s wonderful terrible inconvenience does contribute to a few.

Leave a Reply

