Day 1 wrap-up

I am tired, but we successfully completed the drum parts for:
Jesus My Great High Priest
Before I Knew
Search Me
Greater Is He Who Is In Us
Rejoice In The Lord
A lot of my fears that I shared yesterday were completely relieved. Jacob and Joe were extremely easy to work with. They gave me a lot of good feedback without pushing any personal agenda for any song. Joe is a really fun guy who is full of one liners, and Jacob is a great guy too. It felt like I was back in college with my old roommates Mason and John. Joe is an excellent drummer who did anything I asked, but I usually didn’t have much to say because he derived just the right sound from my scratch guitar/vocal stuff. Jacob is extremely talented as well. He knows Pro-Tools cold and knows how to get just the right sound. At one point, he heard something that Joe was playing that wasn’t quite right. Jacob immediately stopped and got a new floor tom. Suddenly, it sounded exactly right.
Jacob and Joe are both young guys like me. I think that really helps too. I feel like I’m working with peers. Extremely gifted peers who can do just the right things, but they didn’t make me feel like a neophyte.
We’ll see how tomorrow goes. In some ways, today was the easy day because we did songs that I know really well. Tomorrow we’ll start working on the songs that I’m not too sure about. I need even more confidence now to trust my instincts about what is gonna make a song sound good. It’s a good thing that the battle belongs to the Lord. Thanks everybody that prayed for me today. Don’t forget to pray for me tomorrow and Wednesday too.

  1. #1 by katiek on June 3, 2008 - 7:35 am

    Isn’t it nice that we’re getting to the stage where our peers actually have some skills! Took long enough huh? A bonus to getting older….
    I’m excited that you are able to have this experience of recording again. What a wonderful time! Whatta rush! Blessings for today!

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on June 3, 2008 - 7:35 am

    That’s great!

  3. #3 by Rinnie on June 3, 2008 - 8:11 am

    Thanks for the update, and I’m so glad it went so well. Will continue to pray for courage and for 2 more good days.

  4. #4 by Liz Meiners on June 4, 2008 - 3:27 am

    We’ll be praying. Sounds really exciting, Kirk!

Leave a Reply

