Youth Extreme Leadership Conference

The conference is 3/5ths over, and things are going very well. I have been really impressed with the enthusiasm of the youth to sing and to pray. I remember the same feeling when I was at this conference as a youth myself. God used that time to really call me to a deeper level of discipleship. I began to want to know more about scripture and to pray with more sincerity. I was encouraged to take a stand in my school and with my friends instead of being led around by what ever was cool. I’m thankful to be able to be part of this conference now as an adult.
The camp director is Danny Mitchell. I’m a little bias because Danny is an old friend, but I think he’s doing an excellent job with the programming. He’s found a good balance between being fun and being serious. He has kept the worship free of goofy games and skits. They do goofy stuff, but it is during other parts of the day. Danny has also been doing things that are really relevant to today’s youth. He has a seminar called “the Gospel according to YouTube,” which involves showing a clip (sometimes they are just funny and sometimes they are serious or confrontational) and then discussing it.
I’m also having a great time with my family this week. My dad has not had any migraines (he even played with me last night.) We’ve seen my sister and her kids a lot which has been great for Joanna. This morning we’re hanging out with some of Sarah’s family, too.
By the way, check out my new facebook page here. I hope to get some sound clips up after we get back from my first recording and maybe a few rare clips, too.

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on July 10, 2008 - 8:28 am

    I’m thankful things are going well. Danny Mitchell is one heck of a youth leader! I like his YouTube idea;it seems perfect for this generation.

Leave a Reply

