The Slough of Despond

slough.jpgI hate to say it, but I’ve never read The Pilgrim’s Progress, by John Bunyan. However, the title of this post refers to a place in the book. The book is an allegorical representation of the Christian’s journey through life. The main character travels through various hazards and trials to reach the “Celestial City”. My dad referred to the slough of despond a few weeks ago, and the picture has stuck with me for a while.
Here’s a quote from good ol’ Wikipedia:

Slough of Despond, the miry swamp on the way to the Wicket Gate; one of the hazards of the journey to the Celestial City. In the First Part, Christian falling into it, sinks further under the weight of his sins (his burden) and his sense of their guilt.

These past few weeks, I think that I’ve been mired in the slough of despond. I feel like my sin is weighing down on me in a very strong way. I have been thirsty for relief, and it seems like instead of going to the source of living water, I’ve been going to old idols that have no power to satisfy. Jesus’ love feels very distant and my love for him is not there at all. I feel like a religious person who only performs the rituals of faith, without having any relationship and closeness to the living savior.
This weekend we’ll be singing these words from the Getty/Townend song The Power of the Cross:

Oh to see my name written in the wounds
For through Your suff’ring I am free
Death is crushed to death life is mine to live
Won through Your selfless love


Please pray for me that I will believe these words as I sing them.

  1. #1 by Dad on July 30, 2008 - 5:35 pm

    I am so glad that God’s acceptance of us and his ability to use us does not depend on how we feel!
    And you don’t have to read Pilgrim’s Progress to know that.
    We’ll keep praying for your record, too.

Leave a Reply

