Recording Project: My Eyes Are On You and Search Me

Yesterday’s session we started to get into a really good rhythm of forming ideas, getting them into the computer, and moving on to the net idea. We completed My Eyes Are On You and about 1/2 of Search Me. We set dates for 3 more sessions in September, so I am excited to be getting back in the saddle.
My Eyes Are On You
Jacob completed the bass line this past week before the session and added some backward guitar effects, so we dove in with some cool tremelo chord sweeps, then added my Albert King wanna-be lead licks. Then we cut the vocal part including backing vocal Ooos that were a lot of fun. Then we re-cut the rhythm guitar part to make it a more choppy pattern. I really like the results.
Search Me
It’s really hard to commit to ideas on this song because it is so dear to me, I don’t want to mess it up. We started out by turning on the track, grabbing guitars, playing ideas, and then picking out what we liked. After I cut the bass part, we ended up doing this rotary speaker sound on the verses that we’re going to double with a 12 string next time. I added some chunky electric chords over the whole tune in the John Mayer vein. Then we doubled some of the electric stuff with this tiny old guitar from the 50s that Jacob had that sounds kind of like a mandolin or a ukulele. I know you’re thinking that we’re crazy, but it sounds really cool. It’s getting this very Beatles vibe. Next time we’ll do the 12 string stuff, do the vocals, and then put in on the shelf until the keyboards day.

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on September 5, 2008 - 10:11 am

    Cant wait to hear Search Me. That has always been one of my favorites. I’m trying to imagine a Beatles vibe with “Search Me”, partially because when I think of The Beatles I think of how different the Lennon based songs are from the McCartney driven ones, but I dont know about the guitar parts. How exciting!

  2. #2 by Dad on September 5, 2008 - 9:33 pm

    Here come
    the sun king
    Here come
    the sun king

Leave a Reply

