Seven years ago

I was on my way to class in the morning. I believe the class was Form and Analysis with Dr Peterson. I got in the elevator with an African American woman who I’d seen in the building all the time, but I didn’t know her (I think she might have been a vocal teacher). She turned to me and said, “Did you hear about what happened this morning? A plan flew into the World Trade Center!”
“Wow, was it like a little prop plane” I asked.
“No, a big passenger plane, like a 747,” she said.
We had class because Dr Peterson was not one to cancel, but there was a weird vibe. After class we all went to the music building library and crowded around a tiny TV with a bad signal to watch the coverage. By then, the second plane had hit and it was clear that this was not an accident. We watched the towers collapse in shock and awe.
I spent the rest of the day watching TV waiting for World War III to commence.
Where were you?

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on September 11, 2008 - 1:52 pm

    It was early in the morning and had walked over to Jacob’s apartment for coffee before catching a bus to Calvin’s library. I remember walking in and seeing all his roommates huddled around the t.v. silent. It was eerily. Nobody really said anything for a long time and I didn’t ask to be filled in because the footage was being played over and over. I kinda figured it out. Once we all got to campus the mood was somber and people were lining up to use phones to see if people they knew were o.k. Most of us stayed in Johnny’s coffee house on campus) watching the news for the rest of the day. I don’t remember going to class at all and I remember being REALLY shocked by the second tower going down!
    It’s weird how people can remember tragic moments with such vividness. The only really tragic moments I remember in detail were Kurt Cobain dying and the 9/11 attacks. I remember being bummed about things but not where I was or who else was present.

  2. #2 by katiek on September 11, 2008 - 2:41 pm

    I was in Augusta GA sweeping pine straw into huge piles for Joel’s Gpa for a little extra money. Joel’s Oma came trotting down the driveway with the phone. Joel’s brother Nathan told us what happened and told us to watch TV. We watched TV and still got paid.

  3. #3 by katiek on September 11, 2008 - 2:42 pm

    Oh, yeah, I got on a plane to go live in Norway 10 days later.

  4. #4 by Heidi H. on September 11, 2008 - 7:58 pm

    I was in the first month of grad school. I got in the car to drive to work and the DJ’s on the radio were talking about the plane that flew into the World Trade Center. Suddenly they started hollering that a second plane flew into the tower. I also was thinking about world war. Creepy feeling. We sat in class and at the break, all huddled around a TV in another classroom. I got home and called my mom.

  5. #5 by amanda on September 14, 2008 - 6:03 pm

    Two of my professors had decided to combine class so we were having a four hour session in the auditorium of the student center rather than in the ed building. They gave us a break about 1.5 hours into it. On my way through the lobby to get some caffiene, I noticed a random television on a cart running the news. I remember actually feeling rather confused…why is this random tv running? Is this a tape? Are the psych students hiding around the corner watching the reactions of passersby? The news beat me to the auditorium, and the big screen had been turned on. As I sat with my classmates, I couldn’t help but feel scared…as if it was the end of the U.S.
    Later that day, I waited in a line approximately 1.5 miles long for gas. That’s really long for a small town!

Leave a Reply

