Life and Health and Peace

lifehpsmall.jpgThis morning we sang my dad’s modern take on Charles Westley’s “O For a Thousand”. This time, I was particularly struck by the second verse:

The name of Jesus charms our fears
It bids our sorrows cease
It’s music in the sinner’s ears
It’s life and health and peace

I’ve been afraid a lot lately. Particularly about house shopping. This past Friday night, we put in an offer on a house. Yikes! That was scary. I’ve also be afraid of my pain lately. I have been afraid that I will lose the ability to play guitar, to play with my kids, and to protect and provide for my family.
This Sunday, we had a documentary film crew in our service at New City Fellowship in South City. They were following a man named Justin who has been worshiping with us who is from the western Congo. The documentary is about victims of trauma. Justin has lost his whole family because of wars.
This Sunday was the return of a familiar sound that many of us have come to miss. A woman in our church named Donna who sings with us in the music team began shouting praise at the end of “Jesus Keep Me Near The Cross.” Donna’s shouting has not been heard since last Thanksgiving when her 21 year old son, Gary, was murdered.
Life.
Health.
Peace.
Come, Lord Jesus.

  1. #1 by Heidi Vincent on September 22, 2008 - 10:44 am

    Wow, when Donna cried out to God, my heart leapt. Freedom! Thanks for playing South this week. What a blessing!
    I pray that the house hunt is over and October can finalize that! Exciting. I also, pray God takes the pain from your hands (and other joints too, right?)and just for your family’s health in general. I know Jacob and I can pass the same cold back and forth for what seems like a month!

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on September 23, 2008 - 10:27 am

    Shock? Did you guys get the house?!? Did God heal your hands?

  3. #3 by Liz Meiners on September 23, 2008 - 10:35 am

    I still get afraid sometimes, Kirk, when I think about keeping our house rented for at least 8 more years. But I thought about you and Sarah and myself the other day as I read Pro.3:21-26 particularly “when you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet…for the Lord will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being snared.” We are praying for you…your health, your house, your career. LOve, Mom

Leave a Reply

