I Go To The Rock

This morning we had a very refreshing and grace-filled staff meeting. We prayed, sang, and shared our burdens together in a way that brought us all before the cross in a very real way. Praise the Lord for His Spirit’s presence among us. I needed it this morning (is there any morning when I don’t need to be reminded of the cross?). This morning, I was filled with anxiety about my arthritis, our money (lack of…), my relationships, and my own faith. I needed to believe the gospel in this moment to return to a Spirit-led perspective of these things. I’ll share a few things that hit me.
There’s a line in “Whate’er My God Ordains Is Right” that says “His hands can turn my griefs away.” I am more aware these days of references to hands because my hands are constantly on my mind. I was encouraged to look to the strength of God’s hands and not my own. His hands are my hope and not my own hands.
Later, Mike Parker read this scripture:

I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalm 18:1-2

I was filled with love for my Lord. He has been my strength. When I am weak; He is there to support me and give me strength. He is my rock of salvation and refuge. These days, I can choose to build my house on the sand (money, health, skills, worldly wisdom, etc.) but in faith, I must build my life upon the solid Rock. We’re going to buy a house this month, and I ask that you all pray for us to “build our house” or out our faith not in the shifting sand, but in the Lord.

When the earth all around me is sinking sand
On Christ the Solid Rock I stand
When I need a shelter
When I need a friend
I go to the rock.

  1. #1 by katiek on October 14, 2008 - 3:17 pm

    You are in our prayers about all of your woes. And we will stand with you in faith on Our Rock for all that we need as children of God. And woo that Video has some gnarly sangin’ and some way gnarlier sound! Yeouch!

  2. #2 by kirk on October 15, 2008 - 1:39 pm

    gnarly, yes.
    this video came the closest to recreating my memory of Lenard Lewis leading the old school NCF choir on this song. The other choices were Whitney Houston at the Dove Awards and the original Dottie Rambo version which was a little too far on the “southern” side of gospel for my taste. (I learned that Dottie Rambo died last year in a bus accident not far from St Louis in My Vernon, MO.)

  3. #3 by Dad on October 16, 2008 - 6:27 am

    Might as well weigh in on this conversation. It’s hard to remember that millions of musicians and artists have created and performed their work under physical constraints like swollen and painful hands. Some of the hymn writers lived with relatives because they were chronically ill. God will be faithful to you with his grace no matter what the outcome. “Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the word of his servant? Let him who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the Lord and rely on his God.” Isaiah 50:10

Leave a Reply

