Blogging Too Much

I noticed that I have around 50 blogs in my reader, and yet I only see posts from a scant few. It’s so easy to sign up for a blog and then you actually have to write. Maybe, it’s me. Do I blog too much? Am I a narcissist few that loves to hear himself talk more than people want to listen? Why doesn’t the rest of my circle write as much as I do?
Hello?
Bueller?

  1. #1 by Heidi H. on October 17, 2008 - 8:05 am

    Kirk, when I read your blog posts I usually find them interesting… it’s cool to know some of your devotional thoughts as you lead us in worship at church and I’ve appreciated some of the comments and questions you’ve made about the nature of worship. I don’t think it’s narcissistic to write. (Maybe just to demand that others react to the writing a certain way.) Some people are of a more reflective, writing bent. Sometimes I get in writing “moods” and for awhile, in our circles, blogging was more of a social thing that I think has died down a bit.

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on October 17, 2008 - 8:21 am

    Nah, you don’t blog too much. I say this because I know others read you blog. I think the reality is people don’t like to comment as much as they enjoy reading posts. Like Jake, he reads several blogs, but has yet to respond to anybody’s-he doesn’t feel the need.
    I think it’s a great forum for discussion, but sadly, the discussion can sometimes exclude the author of the post. For example, the other day I was talking to someone who also had read your “fish and loaves” post and we had a good chat about the balance of faith and service. So, the post was really a big blessing, but you would have no way of knowing.
    Heidi V.

Leave a Reply

