Top 5 lowest moments of my life

Today in staff meeting, Andrew Stern was leading us and he began by encouraging us to write down the top 5 lowest moments in our lives. It was a strange opening, but we all immediately began to process the question and where it might lead. So, can you do the same thing right now…what’s your top 5 times of trials and suffering.
Mine went like this (in general terms):
1. Betrayal
2. Rejection and Insecurity
3. Sin failure
4. Sickness and physical pain
5. Conflict
Then Andrew had us think about all the lowest points in Jesus’ life: crucifixion, testing in the wilderness, betrayal of Judas, betrayal of Peter, execution of John the Baptist, death of Lazarus, exile in Egypt, Gethsemane…the list goes on and on. Andrew then reminded us the words of the Father, “This is my Son in whom I am well-pleased.” Andrew had us break up into groups to encourage one another with how Jesus’ righteousness was being worked out in our lives. We each got to give specific statements of encouragement to people in our group.
The exercise was very humbling and it really illustrated well the effect of sovereign discipline in my life. I was able to see how those top 5 lowest moments all played a part in drawing me nearer to the cross and how they refined my character to make me a little more like Jesus. Jesus suffered a lot, but none of it was pointless or random. He suffered to accomplish the Father’s will to usher in the new covenant and the kingdom of God and to redeem all of creation starting with His chosen children.
Betrayal drove me to heart of God’s faithfulness and commitment to me. Rejection and insecurity made me long for the acceptance and identity of being a child of God. Sin failure brought me low to expose my desperate need for a Savior. Sickness and pain have taught me to hate the curse of the fall, to long for the new heavens and earth to come, and to be a worshiper despite my circumstances. Conflict has taught me that I must forgive as Jesus forgave me while we were still enemies.
My group encouraged me that I was a humble but equipped worship leader who leads with a sense of peace and dependence on Christ. I would not be any of those things if it wasn’t for the discipline that I have experienced. Thank you, Lord.

  1. #1 by Neil E. Das on February 24, 2009 - 8:47 pm

    I really appreciated this, Kirk. The second to last paragraph is particularly powerful with the truths it expresses and how they are expressed.

  2. #2 by Liz Meiners on February 25, 2009 - 10:58 am

    Thanks, Kirk…very good reminder. It is so easy to fall into self-pity so was good for me to think about the low points in Jesus’ life. God continues to teach us, doesn’t He…

Leave a Reply

