Oh Muse, where art thou?

180px-Muse_reading_Louvre_CA2220.jpgI realized this weekend that I haven’t written a new song in a year! Ack! We actually sang that song this past Sunday, “Your Presence Is Here.” I’m not sure why the muse has departed. It could be that I am concentrating all my creative juices on the 12 songs that are on the new CD. Maybe it’s because I have not had much time for quiet reflection in the midst of a year that included a new baby and a new house.
This morning the muse returned for a brief few hours. I started free-writing a few lines based on 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24. After spending some time trying to milk a few ideas out of the ol’ six-string, I moved on. In my experience if it’s not working right away, it’s best to move on to something else and let it simmer.
Sometimes, good ideas get forgotten. I was flipping through my journal the other day and I found tons of unfinished songs. Lyrical larva that never made it into song adulthood. I need a better system of keeping track of these bits so that they can develop.

  1. #1 by Fender Fan on March 24, 2009 - 10:52 pm

    hey, just found your blog… cool stuff. thanks for writing!
    i’ve found that distraction like that (baby, house) really do take a toll on the creativity… i still haven’t found a solution. 🙂
    thanks for writing.

    My Source for Fender Guitars

  2. #2 by Heidi Vincent on March 25, 2009 - 8:18 am

    “Lyrical larva” nice.

  3. #3 by James Ward on March 28, 2009 - 3:02 pm

    Isn’t the plural “larvae”? HAHA!

Leave a Reply

