Dark Days

My church is entering into some dark days. There are some families that are in serious trouble. There are people who are desperately sick. There are people who are lost. My wife and I both felt the weight of the curse on us last night. There’s not much that we can do for these folks. In fact, there’s nothing that we can do for them except pray. I can’t fix people; I can’t redeem their situations; I can’t be their Savior.
Last year, I wrote this song before one of the most difficult years of my life. It seems that God puts some people through extreme trials in order to produce healing things through them. Just think of what God did through His son, Jesus. By His wounds, we are healed.
My Eyes Are On You
There’s a voice in my mind
That’s telling me lies,
I can’t find my way,
I can’t open my eyes
Lord, Lord, Lord!
There’s an army outside
Breaking down my door
I know the battle’s coming but
I can’t fight anymore
Lord, Lord, Lord!
I don’t know what to do
I don’t know what to do
I don’t know what to do
But my eyes are on you
Some days I start to feel
Like I’m going insane
There’s sickness in my heart and
I can’t stand the pain
Lord, Lord, Lord!
This emptiness in me
Is more than I can bear
You’ve promised to be close but
I can’t see you there
Lord, Lord, Lord!
Chorus
Lord, I know that You are loving and strong
Lord, I trust that your promises are true
But, I just can’t see an end to this pain
My only hope in heaven and earth is You
You were despised
and rejected by men
You stood in my place
And suffered for my sin
Lord, Lord, Lord!
Even thought I’ve suffered
all night and day
I can’t forget You, Lord
and I can’t help but praise You
Lord, Lord, Lord!
Chorus
You can hear this song on my myspace page.

  1. #1 by James Ward on April 2, 2009 - 7:24 am

    Strong stuff, Kirk. Reminds me of some of Dylan’s “Slow Train Coming.” Good company.

Leave a Reply

