Recording Project: Good Friday Session

Friday morning, I got to hang out with Jacob at Sawhorse Studios. We were able to spend several hours building stuff onto a tune called “I Am My Beloved’s”. It’s a tune that goes from being extremely delicate and ephemeral at the start to being a cranked up groove at the end. We only had acoustic guitar, Rhodes (by James Ward), and drums to start. We added bass, a few electric guitar layers, and a synth pad. It took forever to find a good pad that didn’t sound like crap. I was playing one patch and Scott commented that it sounded “too St Louis Science Center.” I am very pleased with how the song is developing, especially as I’ve listen to it more over the weekend. It has some really cool sounds that capture the spirit of the song.
Jacob gave me “semi-final” mixes for 3 tunes. I think there’s probably 3 more tunes that are ready for mixing, so we are in good shape.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

