Coming Down from the Mountain – New City Music Con

God is good! I know you are thinking that I need to take a break, but I can’t sleep in and my house is quiet so it’s a good time to reflect. It was great to see the pics that Neil Das has already posted froom the conference. Check them out here.

I want to share my personal favorite moments from this weeks conference:

  • The absolute explosion of celebration and activity on Tuesday night as Voice of Africa led us in worship. Emmanuel on the hand drums was a real treat.
  • Tony Myles sharing that he doesn’t know what a “Plenary Address” is so he’s just gonna preach.
  • My kids dancing and playing with Pastor Kevin VandenBrink’s daughter
  • Playing a “stankin” set with the NCF U City crew – God, my God, God is good!
  • My dad’s talk – a reminder that this is hard work, but the fruit is evident in the lives of the young people he has mentored
  • Jim Payne’s songs which revealed a deep passion for the gospel and a love of the craft of songs
  • Aloo Gobi – Zack said he’d make it “American Spicy”
  • Malcom Speed’s revealing personal experiences with some of the legends of gospel
  • It was great to see my Congolese friend, Nestor Biayi, affirmed in the African Style Class as he was called in from the back of the room to demonstrate Saben
  • Dr. Sánchez – conga, guitar, upright bass, vocals, and bringing some cool hard truth with wonderful class. We were so affirmed and challenged by his words. (Yes, that talk was recorded and will be available as soon as possible)
  • NCF- Chattanooga successfully did the work for me of picking tunes for the next year. I’m not sure that my team will let me rest until every one of those tunes is in our set.
  • Doing the electric slide – can we do that in church?
  • Jumping in on “Glorious” with Dr. Sánchez on the congas and clave
  • Redeemer PCA in Jackson standing as a family together as their composers shared their songs.
  • watching half the people in my “Into to Improvisation” class falling asleep – What do you expect when you put exhausted people  in a warm room on couches, after lunch. Next conference we’ll ask everyone to bring a yoga mat so that we can have nap time once a day.
  • Watching Paul Neeley get Joshua Saleem playing hand percussion
  • seeing my friend, Odetta Fields, come into her own as a choir director
  • Jeff Rakes humbly taking us to school with his tune “All Honor and Glory” – man, Jeff set a new standard for my flute player.
  • Seeing this cross cultural body of believers express their “heart song” in the form of “O Lord, How Excellent”
  • Carrie Knapp – that girl can sang.
  • Mike Higgins bringing us back to the promise that the curse is broken and the accuser has no power over me
  • I loved the spontaneous expression in singing “You Are Good” at the end of the night. I wish that we had been able to hear more from Jonathan Gramling from Dorchester.  What a voice!
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rob Hatch on August 12, 2011 - 1:40 pm

    Kirk… The deeper reflection will come. But the only thought I have right now is…… Thank You Thank You Thank You

  2. #2 by Mumo on August 12, 2011 - 6:57 pm

    It was very encouraging too to see and hear of how other believers have a heart for reconciliation and justice. The sonship break out session had great testimonies.

    Delighted to hear so many Swahili tunes… Tho’ …*clears throat*…we’ll probably spell check a few of the lyrics 🙂

  3. #3 by Odetta Fields on August 12, 2011 - 9:22 pm

    Glory be to the Lord for that! I don’t know WHAT happened, but I’ll take it!

  4. #4 by Tommy Dent on August 13, 2011 - 8:48 am

    Great!
    Thanks for the opportunity to share a real diversity of music. We don’t get it like this anywhere else.
    Thanks for low cost and housing that allowed our church to bring a group rather than one or two leaders. Very important and more affective!

    P.S. Sorry. I may have fallen asleep briefly in your improv class but I actually really enjoyed it and learned. It was a good class and I would encourage you to do it again when you get the chance [without the couches.]

Leave a Reply

