A disappointing end of the story

Today, we took Simeon back to his birth mom. Papers had not been signed so we had no legal claim to him. We are deeply sad and disappointed, but we are glad that Simeon’s situation is both safe and full of love. Please pray for his mother as she takes her life in a whole different direction. Pray for our hearts to trust in God’s sovereign design.

My grandfather’s favorite psalm was 116

Psalm 116

I love the Lord, for he heard my voice;
he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
I will call on him as long as I live.

The cords of death entangled me,
the anguish of the grave came over me;
I was overcome by distress and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the Lord:
“Lord, save me!”

The Lord is gracious and righteous;
our God is full of compassion.
The Lord protects the unwary;
when I was brought low, he saved me.

Return to your rest, my soul,
for the Lord has been good to you.

For you, Lord, have delivered me from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before the Lord
in the land of the living.

10 I trusted in the Lord when I said,
“I am greatly afflicted”;
11 in my alarm I said,
“Everyone is a liar.”

12 What shall I return to the Lord
for all his goodness to me?

13 I will lift up the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the Lord.
14 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
in the presence of all his people.

15 Precious in the sight of the Lord
is the death of his faithful servants.
16 Truly I am your servant, Lord;
I serve you just as my mother did;
you have freed me from my chains.

17 I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
and call on the name of the Lord.
18 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
in the presence of all his people,
19 in the courts of the house of the Lord—
in your midst, Jerusalem.

Praise the Lord.

  1. #1 by emma on May 29, 2012 - 4:07 pm

    thinking of you guys and praying for your family. Sad for you loss, but happy for Simeon that he has so many people that will hold him in their hearts. Even though he won’t remember, you all were a blessing to him.

  2. #2 by Rinnie on May 29, 2012 - 10:59 pm

    We’re praying often for you guys – for comfort and peace, and sweet times with Joanna and Sam. Love to all of you.

  3. #3 by worship360 on May 30, 2012 - 11:54 am

    oh man. I’m sorry to hear this, Kirk, but am trusting, like you, that this is the best thing for Simeon and that you were there to hold him when he needed it. Hang in there…return to your rest…love from the Northern Indiana Wards…

  4. #4 by Pamela Baum on May 31, 2012 - 12:11 pm

    I know the pain you feel. It is real and it is deep. God gives us some precious children only for a season, but also with great purpose, both for them and for us. We may never know why but please take comfort in the reality that He does. You will take Simeon with you always, as we do Sam, Jomo, and Dannielle. We never stop praying for the boys, and know that God gave us that precious time with them to show them love and Jesus. Though your time was very short, it nevertheless had great meaning. I love you guys and have not stopped praying for your family.

    • #5 by Kirk Ward on May 31, 2012 - 12:26 pm

      thanks, Pam. It’s a great comfort knowing that other folks have walked the same road and they can give a testimony to Gods faithfulness.

  5. #6 by Shayleen Voss on May 31, 2012 - 12:26 pm

    I am sorry. I can only imagine the pain and disappointment. We will be praying for you guys.

Leave a Reply

