Question for Worship Leaders: Are you always on the stage?

One of my coworkers asked me yesterday if I had ever done a Sunday where I was not on the stage. I have vacation Sundays – 4 a year, but the other 48 Sundays I am playing the guitar and leading the singing. She was wondering if it would help with leadership development as well as my personal worship if I spent a few Sundays sitting with my family in the worship.

I’m wondering if any of the blog readers out there are also professional worship leaders who had attempted this and would have any thoughts.

, ,

  1. #1 by worship360 on August 9, 2012 - 2:51 pm

    Hey cuz, I don’t do this regularly, but the time I did was during my chemo treatments. I would come in late and leave early because I didn’t have the energy to even talk to people. But during that time, I sat in the back and worshipped God with all of me. I not only was able to get past the need to evaluate techniques and production, but also start to truly begin to worship again. I highly recommend it for you AND ALSO I am learning that it’s the best way to empower other leaders beside you…for what it’s worth…
    -Sam

    • #2 by Kirk Ward on August 10, 2012 - 11:33 am

      thanks, Sam. I need to get approval from the exec staff for something like this. I’m curious about how my volunteers would respond. You mentioned a few weeks ago the common question that church musicians often receive of “what do you do all week?” I wonder how the congregation would perceive the music director not making music.
      Your comment also reveals a tragic reality that many of us ministry professionals can’t (or won’t) take a break unless something like a serious illness puts us on the sideline. This year, I’ve missed 4 Sundays from sickness or major life events – maybe God is trying to tell me something. 😀

Leave a Reply

