What do you dream about?

Do you have dreams for your life, ministry, or family?

I have a lot of dreams. I have all kinds of ideas, good and bad, to fix, to change, to restore, and to develop my passions. My wife and I have dreamed for a long time about being able to connect our family with the needs of children from families in crisis. Currently, we are living the dream as foster parents. Music ministry is a great laboratory for me to experiment with songs, arrangements or ensembles.

I have a few ideas that I want to just throw out there for NCF folks or whomever to think about:

  • Could we start a children’s choir for the kids in the West End? We’d meet in the Firm Foundation space maybe on one of their off nights. All we need is an enthusiastic leader.
  • What about teaching teens to produce beats, to dance, or to play an instrument? These days all you need is a laptop, a USB mic and a midi controller to make beats. I know we have folks gifted in dance or who would be able to teach a lesson or two. My colleague, Mike Ramsey has been doing this in South City already with the Revival School.
  • What about a summer music camp to piggy back on the summer tutoring program? It would be a short term project without the high commitment levels of a regular rehearsal schedule. We’d do it like a day camp but with choir practices, simple theory lessons, and lots of exciting experimentation with sounds.  We’d need a lot of people to pull this off, but maybe a summer team (someone like, maybe Mike Collison) could take the lead.

What dreams do you have? Let’s talk about them, get the ideas out there, “mother-hen” some ideas, run it up the flag pole and see if anybody salutes.

I think that these ideas usually come to me on weeks like this one when I’m trying to get ready to leave town at the same time that I’m planning passion week worship and dealing with infant induced sleep deprivation.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Heidi H on March 14, 2013 - 5:38 pm

    I dream about and have actually been wanting to talk to you about the artists of New City coming together to make our worship space a little more purposefully beautiful and worship-enhancing. I think we have plenty of craftsmen and artists to do something. I envision folding wooden panels like a screen with artwork behind the worship team, or banners, or something….and I’d love to hear the ideas of others.

    • #2 by Kirk Ward on March 15, 2013 - 9:47 pm

      Heidi, you’re not alone there. You should talk to Nicole Henning. We have already started to get the ball rolling on this.

  2. #3 by sarah on March 14, 2013 - 5:49 pm

    Lately I feel like I’ve been dreaming about having a diverse group of women meet in my home once a week for a time of fellowship and growing deeper in relationship with each other. We would also eat together.

  3. #4 by MTW Europe Member Care on March 15, 2013 - 3:57 am

    Yes, there is the creativity of a somewhat distracted mind and the influence of disparate things. This is an indicator of how the Creator made us creative!

  4. #5 by Name on March 15, 2013 - 9:35 am

    I dream about doing/teaching sign to other believers. Also, dance. I started teaching some dance to a few neighbor kids, and it was a really fun experience.
    P.S. Sarah’s idea for woman sounds wonderful as does Heidi Harbin’s!
    P.S.S. Also dragons…I dream about dragons. AMEN?

    • #6 by Kirk Ward on March 15, 2013 - 9:50 pm

      Speaking of signing, there’s rumors of someone who is looking into a special needs ministry at NCF.

      • #7 by Heidi on March 17, 2013 - 5:06 pm

        I heard about those rumors! Actually,Tony and the other admins had a meeting about it. Looking forward to seeing what happens. P.S. Jake heard some citylights kids saying that they wished they had “good music” like this at their church. Made me thankful for all of you guys.

Leave a Reply

