What is the relationship between healing and worship?

“The Healing of the Nations” is the theme for New City Music’c #MusiCon15. This phrase comes from Revelation 22 in which John describes the new city of God where a river flows from the throne of the Lamb. Along the banks of the river are the trees of life and John tells us that the leaves of the trees are for the healing of the nations.

If you don’t see a need for healing in our communities, our congregations, our families, or your own heart, then you are probably not paying attention. Worship is a time to listen to God’s voice and to be changed in the process. He is present in our worship and He is holy. Like the woman who only needed to touch the hem of His garment, we come into the presence of Jesus in worship, broken and desperate. The wonderful now/not-yet vision of the New City is that the tree of life grows like a weed. The church is the New City where Jesus glory dwells and where the nations stream up to the throne needing this healing.

Here are a few questions that I have for you to consider in preparation for our conference.

  • How have you personally experienced physical or emotional healing through worshiping Jesus?
  • How has music, whether in worship or not, brought you some form of healing?
  • How have you witnessed healing in whole communities through singing together in worship?
  • What does healing look like in music? To say it another way, what active steps do you take to experience healing?

I’d love to read your answers to one of more of these questions in the comments.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Heidi V. on June 30, 2015 - 5:03 pm

    The time God gave me a vision of my non-believing father singing “Hear My Cry” was pretty healing, as was singing “Jesus My Great High Priest” at his funeral. My faith grew and heart was deeply encouraged.

  2. #2 by Tommy Dent on July 2, 2015 - 10:14 am

    Kirk,
    Here is a song I wrote about my experience with the music ministry at Redeemer Church. It may not be about healing so much as learning and developing a relationship with Christ through our relationship with her,”the other,” but here it is.

    She took liberties with her song that I would not prefer
    And her emotional freedoms threatened my reverence and reserve
    I thought her lyrics short and simple and all too well quite understood
    But each repeat she sang as if to deeper go and whelm the flood
    And until she broke me down and Your waves came crashing through
    Jesus, I didn’t know it was You

    My notes printed on the score didn’t mean that much to her
    Just abstractions of the tones that she felt as well as heard
    Rules explained and superseded when her song was sung and heard
    Estimations of the rhythms that she rode bareback in the surf
    And until she broke me down and Your waves came crashing through
    Jesus, I didn’t know it was You

    First awkwardly and gradually I learned to join my voice with hers
    Counterpoint, melody, then glorious harmonies immersed
    And when Your breakers rolled over me I learned dimensions of Your love
    Height and depth and breadth and length; mind and strength and heart and soul
    And until she broke me down and Your waves came crashing through
    Jesus, I didn’t know it was You

    Looking forward to seeing you at the music conference,
    Tommy Dent

    • #3 by Kirk Ward on July 6, 2015 - 2:47 pm

      Thanks for sharing the song!

      • #4 by Kirk Ward on July 6, 2015 - 2:49 pm

        Also, don’t forget to register as soon as you can at ncfmusic.com/conference-registration/

Leave a Reply

