Notes from my plenary talk: The Year of Jubilee

I was terrified about this talk! A lot of help came from friends and mentors who encouraged me as I processed this passage and what it means to practice justice and mercy in the church music ministry. Most of all, I was struck by my own “un-worthiness” and the corresponding  glory of the Worthy Lamb who has called me his son.

Here’s a PDF of my notes with the slides: The Year of Jubilee. As the folks in Chattanooga weed through all the audio from the conference, they will hopefully have a recording of my talk available.

My real goal in this talk was to get away from the usual conversations about music that involve what the music aught to sound like or what the words aught to say and get down to the ethics of being a church musician in [grace-filled, Spirit-led] covenant faithfulness.

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by rnhatch on August 3, 2013 - 9:52 pm

    Kirk – I put up a sound file tonight on our Talks page. Here is the link: http://ncfmusic.com/talks/

    I also culled a pretty good board mix of “hear my cry” from the raw audio and put it on the home page of the site.

Leave a comment